Inaugural Gooseberry 100k Report

21 Jan

Thanks to everyone that showed up. I think we had 21 riders by my count.

Nobody finished the 100k on Saturday. Most everyone did finish what I think is the hardest 40 miles I’ve done on a mountain bike. Ride time was 5 hours and total time on the trail was 7 hours. Those extra 2 hours were used to retrieve Christian Roberts and his bike from a tree that stopped his 30 foot tumble down a cliff and then re-set his dis-located shoulder, clean mud from stuck drive-trains and wait for GPS enabled riders who took a rather long detour. Total climbing was around 5000 ft with the last 3/4 mile of the ride being a 1000 foot elevation gain hike-a-bike.

In opting for the 56 mile route over the hike-a-bike 40 mile route Chris Holley and Kenny can claim the most miles for the day but in doing so they missed out on the hardest most satisfying section of the day. That extra 16 miles they did is only about 45 minutes of ride time longer than the 40 mile route.

Click on the thumbnail for the exploded view of the GPS tracks and elevation profile of what we actually did.

rim2jem2-2.jpg

If you missed out don’t worry we’ll be doing it all again next year with a few modifications. I can’t guarantee that all the famous celebrities that attended this year will be there next year though. Sorry, I promised not to name names.

We rolled/hiked off the North rim at 10:00 a.m. and it wasn’t 10 minutes before we had our first casualty of the day, the above mentioned dis-located shoulder. I’ve often listened to Fatty tell me in great detail how painful it is to dislocate his shoulder and pop it back it in so it was with some hesitation I started filming ER doctor Mike Young going to work on Christian’s Shoulder.

The anti-climactic moment of the year. I thought for sure there’d be blood curdling screams not laughter.

Turns out Mike Young wasn’t the only doctor to attend the inaugural Gooseberry 100k. Here’s Dr. Jones vaccinating Josh’s tires the night before.

I’d always thought it was an urban legend.

Good times and good trails. Here are some more pictures from the day’s adventure.

Love to camp Love to camp Kennny ready to roll dsc01896.jpg

The start dsc01901.jpg Riding the hike-a-bike dsc01902.jpg

The shoulder incident scared us off our bikes dsc01905.jpg

Dug & Karl dsc01906.jpg Paul Dame dsc01908.jpg

The Holley’s dsc01907.jpg Rick S dsc01909.jpg

Lunch break dsc01913.jpg Mark dsc01915.jpg

Master frame builder Mr. Sabrosa dsc01914.jpg

Views dsc01916.jpg Mark dsc01917.jpg Hike dsc01919.jpg

No one died. Yeah! Most of us finished without anything in the tank and looking more than a little pasty. I just love that feeling of being totally fried and finishing a ride having left it all on the trail. If anyone wants to go do the ride on their own just drop me a line and I’ll e-mail you the GPS file. I’m looking forward to doing it again.

11 Responses to “Inaugural Gooseberry 100k Report”

  1. Bob January 21, 2008 at 8:32 am #

    Sounds like I need to add this to my reasons for visiting Utah. That hike-a-bike sounds similar to the one in the Moab Rocks race that we used to do. I think I’d rather ride around it.

  2. jruss January 21, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    great ride brad. thanks for showing me my stomping grounds.
    I forgot to send the modified 1×1 fork down with nails. I will get it up there somehow. Is mid feb. too late? I could certainly mail it sooner. Say the word.

  3. KanyonKris January 21, 2008 at 12:45 pm #

    Sounds like a wild ride. Injuries, mud, race pace, long distance, fried legs, 1000′ hike-a-bike back to camp. This ain’t the Love Boat.

    I think I dodged a bullet. Not that the ride didn’t have a certain appeal, but I would not have performed well and that would have bugged me. Maybe next year.

    Hey, isn’t it about time for a “play around on Gooseberry” ride? That I can handle.

  4. Rick S. January 21, 2008 at 3:50 pm #

    Brad- Thanks for hosting the ride and maping it all out. Next time, i’m staying on your wheel so I won’t add any extra miles to the route. Good times. I needed that.

  5. Adam Lisonbee January 21, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Looks like I missed out on a classic. I am already looking forward to next year.

  6. brkeyes7 January 21, 2008 at 7:29 pm #

    Bob-You kicked my butt at that race. If I remember right that was your first mountain bike race and my second race ever. 1993?

    Jruss-I could spend an entire season showing off the trails down there. No worries on the fork, I’ll be down again in a week or two.

    KanyonKris-It was wild. There will be plenty of playing around Gooseberry this year. I’ll keep you posted.

    Rick S.-Kenny should have his GPS figured out by next year.

    Adam-Dug and I were talking how it didn’t look too bad on paper but it was tough as hell. January 09′ for sure.

  7. emily January 22, 2008 at 1:28 pm #

    hey, you don’t really know me, but i came on the ride on saturday. i think i met you. anyway, just wanted to say thanks for planning it. awesome ride and fun to do something i have never done before.
    emily

  8. Karl Burns January 22, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Hey everyone,

    Below is a link to my website with, among other things, photos from our Gooseberry Mesa ride. http://www.kcburns.org/pics/Gooseberry_Mesa_2008/

    If you want to get the full sized photo just change the URL to something similar to the link below. The JPG name will be the same as the smaller images in the web page. Be sure that JPG is capitalized (it’s Unix ya know)

    Awesome day! I was exhausted by the the end.

    Karl

  9. forrestgladding January 22, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    Dang, looks like it was fun, too bad I have this powder addiction that keeps me in the snow this time of year.

  10. brkeyes7 January 22, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Emily-I remember saying hi to you on the trail. Thanks for coming down. You were one of the stronger riders on Saturday.

    Karl-Thanks for link. I’m going to steal a few of them.

    Forrest-There’ll be plenty of opportunities.

  11. Bob January 22, 2008 at 10:29 pm #

    hmmm, it was pert near 50 in SLC, the road was dry, smooth and down right boring.

Leave a Reply

