More Binge No Purge

14 Jan

I started day 2 thinking about where I could bail out of the ride. There was no way my body was up for a 2nd day of this much riding this early in the season. I hit the food sooner and more often hoping to get through at least the first half of the ride at which point I could then bail safely back to town.

We lost a couple riders on day one and gained a couple on day two. Bob Saffell slummed it with our group today after snubbing his nose at us on day one to ride with better company.

dsc01572.jpgdsc01859.jpgdsc01864.jpgdsc01865.jpgdsc01867.jpgdsc01870.jpgdsc01871.jpgdsc01874.jpgdsc01875.jpgdsc01878.jpgdsc01879.jpgdsc01885.jpgdsc01886.jpgdsc01882.jpg

No bonk. Apparently, eating more oftenย  really does make a difference.

50 miles with around 6000 feet of climbing in 6 hours total time.

I ‘ll get the maps up later today for the Gooseberry ride next Saturday.

P.S. I don’t know what they put in Kenny’s hip but he is riding stronger than ever. I guess I need to start ramping things up.

9 Responses to “More Binge No Purge”

  1. andy January 14, 2008 at 9:45 am #

    what do you guys have against gears and suspended forks? =)

    andy “cheapie”

  2. botchedexperiment January 14, 2008 at 10:37 am #

    dude, that is some seat post you got there.

  3. KanyonKris January 14, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    botched: I didn’t notice the seatpost, but you’re right, it’s a mile high! Maybe that’s also Brad’s velodrome race bike, since with the difference in height between seat and handlbars he be in that wedge aero position. Or maybe Brad doesn’t know they make frames in sizes these days. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. brkeyes7 January 14, 2008 at 1:30 pm #

    andy-I got nothing against gears or suspension. I say, ride what you got. At the end of the day whether I was on gears and suspension or single an rigid I’ll still have a big grin on my face and be tired either way.

    botched and KK-Don’t hide your post. Show it off.

  5. KanyonKris January 14, 2008 at 1:57 pm #

    Must … resist … seatpost … euphemism … innuendo!

    I was interested in the Saturday ride, but now I’m a bit frightened. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. KanyonKris January 14, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    BTW, good post – funny stuff: pre-planning a bail-out, Bob slumming and this:

    “No bonk. Apparently, eating more often really does make a difference.”

    Gave me a good laugh. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has similar epiphanies of the obvious.

    Ya, what’s with Kenny? Doesn’t he know when you get injured you’re supposed to soften up? Is his mellow demeanor really just a facade for his super-competitive core? I’m just a jealous, Kenny-wanna-be. Riding like Kenny would require wor … no, no, I’m stopping that epiphany of the obvious riiight there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. botchedexperiment January 14, 2008 at 4:11 pm #

    I’m afraid if I show my post, people will compare it to your post.

  8. andy January 15, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    i’m hoping for someone to convince me that i really should get rid of my ellsworth and get a superfly. i don’t want “ride what you want,” i want someone to tell me “you absolutely do not need a FS and would ride much, MUCH faster on a HT 29er.” heh.

  9. brkeyes7 January 15, 2008 at 7:55 am #

    andy-you absolutely do not need a FS and would ride much, MUCH faster on a HT 29er. Most likely.

Leave a Reply

