Gooseberry 100k Maps

14 Jan

I sorta figured out this GPS mapping stuff. The Jem-Rim-Gould trail is well marked so if you can get to there from the windmill you should be OK. Nothing tricky after that if you decide to do the longer sections. The longer routes take a 7 mile paved section through Rockville and then a brutal small climb back to the top of the mesa for a loop around the Goose. This is what Saturday will look like:

dgoose1001.jpg

The purple and yellow sections will be the 40 mile ride and will consist of dropping off the north rim, heading 9 miles over to do the the Jem-Rim-Gould trail in a counter-clockwise direction and then heading back up on the mesa the same way you came down.

The 56 mile route will add the blue section and part of the red section to the BLM outhouse then straight back to the windmill.

The 67 mile route adds the loop around Gooseberry clockwise to finish at the North rim and then back to the windmill.

Here’s a little 3D action:

goose3d3.jpgGo at your own pace and have a good time. I plan on running sweep as I’m pretty familiar with the route but remember you are on your own. Bring plenty of water and food to last for 5-7 hours depending on your speed and route you choose. I will be packing a 100 oz. Camelback and 2 large water bottles and lots of good food but I’m not sharing.

I will share before and after the ride. I’ll bring coffee and post ride beverages. If you’re camping plan on 30 degrees overnight. Daytime should be 50 degrees. Try to be there between 9:00-9:30 we will be rolling between 9:30-10:00.

Any questions?

Edit – Another option would be to do the loop around Gooseberry after doing the 40 mile route. Link together the purple, yellow and red sections. This is a great option if you want to go longer than 40 but want to avoid any pavement. I like this option a lot.

7 Responses to “Gooseberry 100k Maps”

  1. KanyonKris January 14, 2008 at 11:09 pm #

    1st reaction: Brad’s insane. Camp Lynda has warped his brain.
    2nd reaction: maybe it’s not so bad?
    3rd reaction: yea, that’s a serious ride, even the short route.

    Clarification: for the 56 mile route shouldn’t it read “add the dark blue section”? You’ve got 2 segments you’re calling purple.

    Some questions:
    1 – How much sand?
    2 – That drop off the north rim looks nasty – what’s it like down and up?
    3 – What is the riding like from Gooseberry Mesa out to JEM?

    I looked up JEM-Rim-Goulds on UMB and it sounds like that’s a pretty stout ride all by itself. 21.5 miles, 3000’+ climbing. Your routes are cool how you’ve linked everything up, but I’m not sure I’m up for it. What if I meet you guys at JEM and ride the loop with you? Then if I have anything left I could drive up to Gooseberry Mesa, or Slickrock Swamp/Rockville Bench, and play until I’m toasted. I guess that means I’m J.M.M. 2nd string. 😉

  2. brkeyes7 January 15, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    KK-56 mile route description corrected to “blue section” thanks! Answers: 1. Very little sand. 2. I’ts just a short section off the cliff that can be easily hiked. 3. Once off the cliff it’s a dirt road over to jem. come ride whatever sections you want as you can easily bail at different points but you might need to hitchhike.

  3. jruss January 15, 2008 at 7:54 am #

    nice map work. see you at 9:00 am.

  4. kenny January 15, 2008 at 8:43 am #

    hey brad, do you have an uploadable map file for our garmins? I dont think you should sweep. it’s not like you, man. you need to be out front.
    k

  5. brkeyes7 January 15, 2008 at 3:03 pm #

    jruss-I’ve got some artwork for you.

    kenny-I’ll post the gps tracks tonight. You can download them and be the trail scout. I’ll bring up the rear.

  6. dug January 16, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    i like that 40 mile option with the goose at the end too. let’s do that. please can we do that?

  7. KanyonKris January 18, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    Just letting you know I won’t be coming down to ride. The desert is calling me, but my Mom is having all the kids and grandkids up for a fun in the snow day. So I’ll be hangin’ with the family tomorrow. Hopefully I can get with you some other time for a ride, or even yurt construction.

    I hope you all have a good ride! And I expect pictures and stories!

Leave a Reply

