Gooseberry 110k, 90k and 60k

6 Jan

Those are your options. Saturday January 19th we will be rolling off of the North rim of the mesa between 9:30 and 10:00 a.m. instead of the previously reported 9:00 a.m. because it’s a little chilly that early.

We will meet at the windmill between 9:00 and 9:30 a.m. I’ll be camping out there Friday night with anybody else that wants to join me. There are plenty of empty motel rooms in Hurricane this time of year if you don’t want to camp and it’s only 30 minutes away. I’ll bring coffee. It will be kinda cold so bring two sleeping bags and extra clothes if you are camping. It should warm up real fast and be about 50 degrees by noon.

dsc01098.jpg

There will be several bail out points if you want to head back early, not that I expect that from anyone.

All 3 routes stay together for the first 55k or so and then the 90k and 110k options stay together until back on top of the mesa where those wanting a 110k can opt for a loop around the Gooseberry trail. We will start and finish at the windmill.

The 60k is all off-road and there is only 7 miles of pavement for the 90k and 110k. Plan on anywhere from 3.5 to 6.5 hours total ride time depending on which option you choose. Bring everything you need for that long of a ride unless you want to beg food and water in Rockville.

Our routes will consist of sections that I rode a couple weeks ago. I promise not to get lost this time around.

I’ll try to get some maps up this week.

Any questions?

15 Responses to “Gooseberry 110k, 90k and 60k”

  1. Rick S. January 7, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    Brad, here in the US of A, we use miles. Please break this down in a language I am familiar with.
    I’m in for sure.

  2. brkeyes7 January 7, 2008 at 10:49 am #

    Certainly. 68, 56 and 38 miles or pretty close to that. The kilometers just make it sound so huge.

  3. jruss January 7, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    sign me up for the 110k

  4. dug January 7, 2008 at 11:56 am #

    i’m so excite, is nice.

  5. KanyonKris January 7, 2008 at 8:07 pm #

    Is it OK if you don’t know me and I show up? I may have seen you at the Squaw Peak ride, my wife knows your wife from ICUP. Close enough?

    I’m interested to see your route map.

    What if I get too tempted by the siren call of the Mesa and stay on top?

    It would be fun to see your little corner of Earth and hear your plans for it. Yurts rock!

  6. brkeyes7 January 7, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    KanyonKris-What is your wife’s name? Absolutely, you can show up but the real fun will be had on the 110, 90 0r 60k routes. I’ve just about got the GPS thing and mapping software figured out for the route maps. I’m kinda slow with that stuff.

  7. sly January 8, 2008 at 12:14 am #

    im comin so tell kenny its a race.

  8. KanyonKris January 8, 2008 at 12:59 am #

    Jolene – Sport Women 35+

    I’m just not sure what I’m in the mood for – a long desert cruise or goofing off on the Mesa playground.

    I’ve done mapping and GPS for years – let me know if I can help (go to my blog then hit the E-mail link). Are you using TOPO!, TopoFusion, Google Earth or other?

  9. brkeyes7 January 8, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    sly-Kenny is a man possessed. You better bring it.

    KK-Tasha says hi to Jolene. Tasha won’t be coming for this one but Jolene is welcome. Thanks for the offer but I gotta figure out the GPS myself or I’ll never get it. Do the shorter desert cruise option then hit the Goose.

  10. Forrest January 8, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    Lost your number again. I got some maps for you. call me everyday until I can answer, sometimes I am working and cant answer it and then I get busy and forget to call you back.

  11. Rick S. January 8, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    sly- Will you be riding a single speed with big wheels? I know how much you like that kind of set up. Just curious.

  12. jody January 8, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Brad,
    Certainly won’t be there! I can only dream of being a biking fanatic like you. Just checking out your blog.
    Jody

  13. sly January 9, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    my scalpel weighs 19 pounds gets 4″ travel, 26″ wheels and has 18 gears =2×9.
    thats how i roll beeotch

  14. Jeff Bates January 11, 2008 at 10:16 am #

    sounds like fun. singlespeed bliss i assume? i might be able to drag a few freaks out for some early 08 singletrack. Jeff B

  15. brkeyes7 January 14, 2008 at 7:14 pm #

    Jeff-Hope you make it down. It should be a great escape from the great white north.

Leave a Reply

