Tempted By The Darkside

21 Dec

This is exactly the kind of temptation that makes me weak. I am very capable of returning to full on geek mode in the presence of such a specimen. Jaime P. has just put all bike geeks to shame, again. He’s gonna be very hard to de-throne after this.

12-20-07-p-mans-injuries-and-new-blacksheep-001-1.jpg

This bike oozes geek more than anything I’ve seen in a very long time. Jamie is really making me question myself and my decision to go dork.

I will overcome. I am stronger than I think I am. I can do more than I think I can. Where’s Ken Chlouber when I need him?

BTW, bike was an early Christmas gift to himself and is a custom Blacksheep with the blingiest stuff you could imagine.

11 Responses to “Tempted By The Darkside”

  1. UtRider December 21, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    Except for the fact that the builder forgot to include gears and suspension it looks pretty sweet!

  2. fernandoj December 22, 2007 at 4:21 pm #

    I’m not a freak but I like singlespeed which is really odd in my country. It’s a good option for Cyclocross or even MTB with a 30 teeth plate and and 11-34 cassete but not for marathons with high ground elevations.

    That bike is really expensive: ZTR Olympic rims, Ti in several parts (pedals..)

    That’s not a bike to compete with, without rear derailleur you go crazy!

    Disc brakes? I prefer brake rims ones and with a dremel I culd remove that
    unsightly “flat bar” of the frame.

  3. brkeyes7 December 22, 2007 at 7:00 pm #

    UtRider- Thanks for stopping by. Don’t try a single cause you’ll never go back.

    fernandoj_ I was looking at that pic and thinking about that tube as well. I’m not sure if that flat tube under the toptube serves a purpose other than to look cool. I’ll ask Jamie.

  4. fernandoj December 23, 2007 at 6:00 am #

    I think that tube is part of the frame design feature. Probably, if you remove it the structure collapses because of the excessive arch of the top tube and its weak/minimalist ti soldiering.

    Somehow the top tube reminds me of Specialized Tarmac 😉

  5. Forrest December 23, 2007 at 3:19 pm #

    Nice

  6. dug December 23, 2007 at 4:44 pm #

    get one brad, and i’ll ride YOUR walt. do it. do it. you’ll love it. do it.

  7. brkeyes7 December 25, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    Come and get it dug. Serious.

  8. jamie p December 27, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    Fernandoj- The “tank tube” is not functional it’s purely esthetic. It is meant to look like the old clunker bikes that started the fat tire movement. In fact I have another Blacksheep called the “Highlight” that has the curved top tube, and just a small extra tube between it and the DT. It’s plenty strong and has held up to major abuse over the last year plus.

    As for the minimalist welds, I don’t know what country you are from, but this here bike is a good ‘ol “made in the US of A” frame. (Not some cheap import) The welds are perfect and plenty strong. Don’t be dissin’ my sheep!

  9. bp December 30, 2007 at 9:41 pm #

    I hear they often ride sheep in Ireland and Scotland…and KY. It can get lonely!

  10. fernandoj January 9, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks jamie p. I didn´t mean it was a poor soldiering work, but sometimes mini-welds are not properly finished.

    By the way, I´m from Spain and my frames were proudly produced in Taiwan 😉
    The same place than great part of the bike industry

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rules To Dork By « brad keyes - February 5, 2008

    […] been losing my focus lately. After seeing Jamie’s new ride my inner bike geek has been fighting to get out and I will not allow […]

Leave a Reply

