Binge Training

18 Dec

binge-2.jpg

That’s what Lynda Wallenfels calls it. Back-to-back epic training days. I’ve known about Lynda for several years although I’m pretty sure we’ve never formally met. She is as hardcore of a biker as I know. She beat me at the 06 Desert Rampage and later that same year I rode with her for quite a bit of the E50 in Park city. Yes, she beat me there too. I didn’t even finish.

I came across her blog a couple weeks back and noticed she has some epic binge training rides planned for the weekend before my Gooseberry 100k. Her 3rd day looks very similar to what I have planned for the 100k. I think Tasha and I are going to make a go of her camp. At the very least we plan on doing days 1 and 2.

The unsupported nature of the rides she has planned apparently require using a GPS. I must admit I’m intimidated by GPS. I don’t even know what the letters GPS stand for but I now know what Tasha is getting for Christmas. I’m sure she’ll love it.

I’ve never been so excited for a January in my life and yes, I’m still going down on the 19th for the inaugural Gooseberry 100k.

8 Responses to “Binge Training”

  1. Karen December 18, 2007 at 3:24 pm #

    If only I trained as well as I eat…..love the photo 🙂

  2. kp December 19, 2007 at 4:31 pm #

    Brad,

    When are you heading down to map your course? I will be down next week to hit Gooseberry with Jon from Sabrosa. The January ride sounds like great RAWROD training, I was one of the last guys up Murphys last year and need a little revenge.

  3. brkeyes7 December 19, 2007 at 6:38 pm #

    Karen- Thanks for stopping by.

    kp- I was trying to get there this week but it looks like I too will be down there next week. What day are you an Jon doing the goose? Maybe we can hook up and do a preview ride of parts of the 100k.

  4. kp December 20, 2007 at 1:01 pm #

    Brad – sounds great, we are shooting for Thu or Fri of next week but keeping an eye on the weather, we’ll keep you posted!

  5. jruss December 20, 2007 at 2:02 pm #

    I’m in for a little pre-ride.

  6. Forrest December 20, 2007 at 7:55 pm #

    Dude, I didnt even know you had a blog! Building some yurts? Man let me know how this goes. I want to buy some propery in CO and build a winter yurt! Drop me a line. FORREST

  7. Forrest December 20, 2007 at 7:56 pm #

    PS, let me know where your parcel is. I work in the aerial photo business and I may have that area on file if you need it.

  8. brkeyes7 December 20, 2007 at 8:43 pm #

    Forrest, glad you found me. Ill e-mail the survey to you. An aerial would be killer.

Leave a Reply

