I Spent My Kid’s College Fund

15 Dec

And my retirement fund.

I started this blog to keep everyone up to date on my Gooseberry project. Reading that first post I realize I didn’t even mention what I was doing on Gooseberry Mesa.

I’m putting up some yurts.

2 years ago I found a 10 acre parcel for sale. I got excited about owning some dirt in Southern Utah and what better place than Gooseberry. This parcel sits right on the north rim and has views of Zion National Park, Kolob mountain and the Springdale-Rockville-Virgin corridor. As a bonus it’s 500 yards from a trail head of the Gooseberry Mesa trail network. Did I mention it’s completely surrounded by BLM land and only 1 of a couple privately owned parcels on the entire mesa? Zero chance of ever having neighbors.

I made an offer and after a couple months of negotiating things fell apart. I spent the next year and a half tracking down the owners of the other parcels, making offers and begging them to sell. The owners were not at all interested. I went back to the first seller and worked things out. I now own the only available and arguably the finest parcel of dirt on the mesa.

dsc01693.jpg

Takes your breath away, huh. A work of art.

Art requires patience. While they got some of the parcel flagged right away It took the surveyors 4 months to get the necessary details and numbers complete.

During this time I’ve been hassling Washington County to secure permits for the project. The biggest obstacle has been classification.

How do we classify what you want to do? That doesn’t fit within any of our current classifications for building projects.

I think we’ve got it worked out but the county planner wants me to present the project at their next meeting.

I’ve been working on a site plan myself but don’t have the skills or tools to impress. Any mountain bike obsessed architects or drafting wizzes out there that can help me with a site plan? Help. Thanks! Jon H., Rob S. and Randy.

7 Responses to “I Spent My Kid’s College Fund”

  1. dug December 15, 2007 at 11:50 am #

    i’ll draw it up for you. got any spare napkins? i just need a refresher on the difference between ‘ and ” to avoid any stonehenge type mistakes.

  2. BotchedExperiment December 15, 2007 at 5:50 pm #

    dug, ” is for when you want something to taken at face value, e.g.,”The land is like 200 feet wide.”

    ‘ is for when you are just giving an estimate, e.g., ‘The land is like 200 feet wide.’

  3. Bob December 16, 2007 at 5:58 pm #

    I could draw something for ya, check my portfolio

  4. brkeyes7 December 16, 2007 at 6:15 pm #

    Bob- you’re hired! that’s some fine draftsmanship. Between you and dug’s napkins we’d be impress the hell out of the WashCo planner for sure.

  5. jruss December 17, 2007 at 8:08 am #

    I rode right across your property yesterday. I must admit, I am pretty jealous of your land aquisition. Washington county can be a pain in the ass to work with. I am actually pretty impressed that you were able to get survey work done out there. Drop me an email. I run autocad all day every day and could probably help you out.

  6. Randy December 17, 2007 at 10:35 am #

    I am a building contractor and a draftsman in Southern Utah. I would be happy to help out. Send me an email.

  7. Forrest December 23, 2007 at 3:21 pm #

    If you know the lat long coordinates of the yurts, I will hook you up with some aerial imagery and plots of the area.

Leave a Reply

