I Gots Ninja Skillz

13 Dec

I took the girls to the Jazz game. I really don’t know anything about the Utah Jazz except that Kirilenko has permission from his wife to have sex once a year with another woman. Nice.

We took Trax to the game and ran into a couple bike commuters escaping the 20 degree cold. Local IMBA rep and fellow ICUP racer Ryan Miller and Cliff. Some commuters choose to commute by bicycle and others have no choice. Ryan is in the former category and Cliff falls really hard into the latter. You can see Ryan’s fixie in the first pic below if you look real hard. I’m not sure what to call Cliff’s bike but he says it’ll be available in a carbon fiber version next spring at Revolution. I can’t wait.

cliff1.jpg

Cliff told me the bike seat was an Ethan Allen office chair and that it was the best saddle he’s ever had on a bike. I counted 4 different stems in his handlebar set-up and lots of tape.

cliff21.jpg

I enjoyed the circus around me more than the game itself. We were surrounded by people having personal conversations and shouting matches with the Jazz players who were 100 rows below us on the court. At one point little parachutes started dropping from the rafters carrying what looked like burritos, turns out they were t-shirts.

I immediately started strategizing on how to improve my odds of snagging one of the burritos should it float my direction. I was surrounded by kids jumping out of their seats and flailing their little arms trying to grab the parachute as it came closer. I stood perfectly still and waited til the very last moment and then struck like a snake. Those poor kids didn’t have a chance.

I think the Jazz lost.

7 Responses to “I Gots Ninja Skillz”

  1. Bob December 13, 2007 at 9:20 am #

    I see Cliff almost every day near my office in Sandy, that bike rocks, Keating runs the other way when he sees him coming to the shop.

  2. Rick S. December 13, 2007 at 12:17 pm #

    WTF? I need to see that bike in person to get what’s going with it.

  3. Tony December 13, 2007 at 1:57 pm #

    Isn’t it funny the extent that people will go to in order to grab a free Taco Bell t-shirt? Don’t sugar coat it BK, the majority of people “fighting” for the “T’s” are adults!

  4. brkeyes7 December 13, 2007 at 2:47 pm #

    Bob-thats funny cause Cliff thinks Keating is the cats meow.

    Rick-Don’t get too close to it. I think 3 people got poked in the eye by it on the train.

    Tony-Any adults near me would have been subjected to the five-point-exploding-palm-heart technique if they got in my way.

  5. je December 13, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    I think I was at that game, too. Tuesday against the Blazers and the Jazz stunk up the joint.

    We were up on the front row of the upper bowl and my daughter wa shreiking as if she might have an impact on something other than my hearing loss and mood.

    When the weather turns to spring, I’ll be a bike commuter when I can. Right now, while the weather is about 10 degrees when I finish a shift, it’s not a good idea for me to ride home from the office at 1 a.m.

  6. je December 14, 2007 at 8:45 pm #

    Hey, now that Fatty is sending people your direction, you’ll have to post more often and be careful about what you right.

    Glad he didn’t force that on me!

  7. brkeyes7 December 14, 2007 at 9:27 pm #

    je-did I write right somewhere when I should have written write like you writing right implying I should have written write? I’m dumb. I have no idea what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

