Winter Cycling

4 Dec

I just talked to Tony P. and he’s thinking about going out for a ride in the cold and snow. I really don’t want to go out in the cold and snow but in my constant pursuit to beat Kenny I’m forced to do it. Here he is at Leadville this year on his way to a blazing 8:30 time, on a single speed no less.

kennyleadville.jpg

I’ve come to the painful realization that I can’t afford to take a few months off when it gets cold. Even after breaking his head open and busting his hip this past year you’d think he’d slow down. Wrong. He’s strong like bull.

And then there’s Rick S. and those youngsters in the DNA crowd (Tony, Jamie, etc.) that are constantly pushing the pace beyond AT or VT or whatever you call it when blood starts dripping out of your ears. Nobody’s getting slower.

I must ride. Of course, I’d rather be outside than doing this:

dsc01654.jpg

I’m so lerpy.

If I’m going to get out I need to go shopping for some good winter gloves . I’m sure I can find some cheaper gloves than these mitts I came across from Rapha. Holy Crap! $165! Ouch! I remember reading somewhere that John Stamstad liked to outfit himself for the Iditabike with cheap stuff from Wal-Mart. I’m definitely going to Wal-Mart.



7 Responses to “Winter Cycling”

  1. Tony December 4, 2007 at 2:52 pm #

    My motivation for mentioning that I may go for a ride today was in hope that you would join me. You know what they say … misery loves company.

    Besides we’re both in this crappy mortgage/real estate industry. What better things to we have to do?

  2. Rick S. December 5, 2007 at 10:49 am #

    Brad,

    You are the last person who needs to worry about your fitness. You are stronger now than i have ever seen. It’s scary.

    I’m starting my winter routine of going to spin classes early morning- 3 days a week. that mixed with some backcountry hikes.

  3. je December 5, 2007 at 11:39 am #

    My fitness level has dropped a bit, too. I’ve never been superman, but I was doing pretty well for a few months. Too many kids, too many things to do at work, crazy schedules and then poorly-timed snow storms when I have an off day have ruined it for me.

    Like you, I’ll always have my cyclops at 6 a.m. or the spin class at the gym where I can pedal away with the soccer moms.

  4. brkeyes7 December 5, 2007 at 10:08 pm #

    Tony, misery does love company and nothing is more miserable than going for a ride with you and Jamie and Rick. I swear you guys are always putting the hurt on.
    Rick, I’m ready for you and Dug to kick my ass on some back country steeps.
    je, I had forgotten about the soccer moms at spin class. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. kenny December 8, 2007 at 8:43 am #

    Brad, let’s make a pact. I’ll take a month off, if you take off two.

  6. dug December 11, 2007 at 9:05 am #

    you said nobody is getting slower. I’M getting slower.

  7. Forrest December 20, 2007 at 8:02 pm #

    Thats why you kick my ass every race, I dont ride in the winter at all. Once the snow hits through May I am too busy snowboarding. I rather have you beat me down than anyone else though!

Leave a Reply

