Gooseberry 100k

20 Nov

That’s right. I’ve pieced together 100k of trails on and around Gooseberry Mesa. A great way to start the new year. I’m planning on driving down Friday the 18th of January 2008 and camping out on the overlook just past the windmill.

I’ll be rolling/hiking off the mesa @ 9:00 am on Saturday the 19th. That should give you enough time to get there if you are staying in St. George or Hurricane to avoid camping in the cold. Plan on 50-55 degrees during the day with low 30’s overnight.

The planned route drops off the North side of the mesa and heads (10mi) over towards the Rim/Jem/Gould loop (22 mi) which we’ll do and then go back towards Grafton. Then it’s time for the grunt up the steep scenic byway to the Goose cattle guard and back onto the mesa for a loop around Gooseberry and finishing at the overlook.

Total distance is about 65mi and should take 6-7 hours to complete. I plan on having a topo map with mileage and elevation up on the blog soon so check back for more details. Ill provide post-ride beverages for everyone who participates. If you’re interested let me know so I can get a head count.

11 Responses to “Gooseberry 100k”

  1. Fatty November 21, 2007 at 6:01 am #

    I’m in. Is this a race or a group ride?

  2. brkeyes7 November 21, 2007 at 1:25 pm #

    I think it would be fun to have an A group that races and a B group that does it as a ride. Not sure at this point. I’m just wanting a solid first of the year ride.

  3. Bill Freedman November 21, 2007 at 1:56 pm #

    Count me in the B group.

  4. Rick S. November 21, 2007 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m in. I assume you are riding your SS?

    Absolutely!

  5. Rick S. November 21, 2007 at 4:22 pm #

    I’m in and I want some Carbo Rocket.

    I’ve got a container with your name on it in my van.

  6. dug November 21, 2007 at 5:57 pm #

    i’m IN. but i’m not racing. racing would be stupid.

  7. kenny November 26, 2007 at 1:54 am #

    I’m coming and I’m going to kick all yurs asses.

  8. Bob November 27, 2007 at 12:49 pm #

    I’m still running this up the flagpole. If I go, I’ll be in group B. Are you sure you can ride/hike down the mesa? Maybe you should go pre-ride the course.

  9. brkeyes7 November 27, 2007 at 2:55 pm #

    Bob, I’m planning on stealing someones GPS and doing a pre-ride sometime in December. I’ll post a map with way points and elevation. I’m confident that it can all be strung together with little to no bushwhacking.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Spent My Kid’s College Fund « bradkeyes - December 15, 2007

    […] started this blog to keep people informed of my Gooseberry project. Reading that first post I realize I didn’t even mention what I was doing on Gooseberry Mesa. I’m puttin up some […]

  2. 2nd Annual Gooseberry 100K « brad keyes - November 23, 2008

    […] 2nd Annual Gooseberry 100K 23 11 2008 I can’t believe it has been one year since I posted about the Inaugural Gooseberry 100k. […]

Leave a Reply

