Sweet 16

4 Aug

It’s hard to believe my baby, Kendra, is 16 years old today.  I love it, I think.  She is amazing and wonderful and smart and beautiful and talented.  I do love her, that, I know.  We have been celebrating her non-stop all day long.

I celebrated her with oven-puffed pancakes this morning.

Tacos this afternoon.

Followed by $100 worth of empanadas and Haagen-Daz coffee ice cream for dinner. Yes, $100 buys a lot of empanadas, please stop by tomorrow and have a few or I will be eating them for the next 3 weeks.

She then celebrated her 16th by shaving and bleaching her hair.

Kendra will continue celebrating her 16th birthday for the next 3 days at Lollapalooza in downtown Chicago wherein, I will age 5 years in same said 3 days.  Oh, to be 16 again! I’m loving every minute of it. I think.  Happy birthday Kendra, you are the best, most awesome 16 year old daughter I could ever hope for.  I love you!

2 Responses to “Sweet 16”

  1. KanyonKris August 4, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    “Enjoy the power and beauty of your youth. Oh, never mind. You will not understand the power and beauty of your youth until they’ve faded. But trust me, in 20 years, you’ll look back at photos of yourself and recall in a way you can’t grasp now how much possibility lay before you and how fabulous you really looked.”

    - Mary Schmich

    http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/columnists/chi-schmich-sunscreen-column,0,4054576.column

  2. Jenny September 2, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    You let her cut her hair like that? Wow

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

