Mormon Bread

7 Mar

It’ll get you in the door every time.

The doorbell rang yesterday (Sunday) and standing there was a tall, long haired, hippie looking guy in blue-jeans who looked about my age.  In his hand he held a bag with a warm round loaf of bread, it was still steaming.  He asked if I was Brad Keyes to which I responded, “why yes, yes I am who are you?”  He said he was with the “Church”.

If I lived in Utah and it was Sunday and someone came to my door with a loaf of fresh baked bread (he made it himself) dressed in a suit and tie and said he was with the Church I’d think this normal behavior.  Not exactly normal behavior in Chicago and especially not from a long hair in blue jeans. So naturally I said, “which church, the Catholic church or the Buddhist church around the corner?” I would have asked the same question if this had happened in Utah.

Of course, deep down I knew exactly what church he was talking about.  Frankly I was surprised it had taken them 8 months to find us.  The bread smelled delicious and I couldn’t just take it and shut the door so I invited him in,  plus he looked lonely.  As the first Mormon I’ve met in Chicago in 8 months surely he must be lonely.

We broke bread. Not true, I waited til he left and then me and the girls went to town on that loaf.  Crazy good! Best bread I’ve ever had, it didn’t last 20 minutes.  I’m trying to figure out how to get a loaf out of him once a week.

12 Responses to “Mormon Bread”

  1. bob March 7, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    you said loaf.

    • brkeyes7 March 8, 2011 at 6:54 am #

      Steaming loaf.

  2. Mike Green March 7, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

    Maybe in Chicago, that’s the kind of bread they use in the sacrament trays on Sunday? Just think, if you went to church you could “partake” of it once a week!

    • brkeyes7 March 8, 2011 at 5:45 am #

      Good point. If I got the whole loaf out of the deal it might just be worth it.

  3. Grizzly Adam March 7, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    My little brother just moved to Chicago. I don’t know if he is anywhere near you, but I could introduce you guys and he could be the 2nd Mormon you’ll meet in chicago.

  4. mark March 8, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    This morning I saw one of my neighbors whom I haven’t seen in about a year. Since he hadn’t seen me at church, he thought I had moved. He didn’t give me bread, but he did help me dig out of a snow drift, which is just as nice. Maybe we’ll repay him the favor with some apostate bread. It tastes just as good.

    • brkeyes7 March 8, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      If apsotate bread is anything like the apostate waffles you make you might end up de-converting your neighbor.

  5. KanyonKris March 8, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    They do blues bands in Chicago Mormon churches. You should check it out.

  6. Flyin' Ute March 8, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Brad,

    I bet if you asked he would make you some more bread. Seems too simple I know. It’s crazy!

    I bet it works.

  7. Bill Martin March 8, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    That would make some good toast. With Nutella … oh baby!

  8. LidsB2 March 9, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    As a mormon in Oklahoma, I can only wonder. I wonder where I can find someone to bring me bread like that. I wonder if I could tell the difference between mormon bread and apostate bread. I wonder what Oklahoma hippies look like. I can’t help but ask these questions… Oh…wait. I didn’t ask. I was just wondering.

  9. jruss March 11, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    never trust a long haired mormon feller.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

