Bastardos!

29 Nov

First off, I must say that my Thanksgiving dinner was better than yours.  How could that be you ask?  Here’s how:

  • Blue cheese and apricot crostini
  • Deviled crab
  • Andouille sausage and chestnut stuffing
  • Japanese sweet potatoes with chipotle adobo
  • Roast chicken and riced potatoes
  • Pumpkin praline soufle

Told you so!  Bottom line, if you ever get an invite from the Bosens for dinner please, for the love of all that is holy, GO!  They are not the bastardos in the paragraph below.  Hands down the best Thanksgiving dinner ever.  Sorry, Mom.

OK, on to los bastardos.  Long story short we had a couple bikes stolen here in Chicago off an incredibly busy street out of  a full bike rack.  It felt pretty safe to leave them there with a burly lock and all the other bikes.  Wrong!  It took a while to sink in as we walked the 6 blocks home.  After the 3rd block I started to feel violated. It didn’t help that our bikes were the most expensive things we own, each worth more than our car.

I filed a police report as soon as we got home and spread the word via twitter (thanks for all the retweets!) and also filed an insurance claim.  They were just bikes after all and we can live without them.  No, actually, we can’t live without them.  Tasha commutes 25 miles a day 5 days a week so her’s is pretty important but she is learning to use public transportation.  The theft coincided with freezing temps here in Chicago so I’m not missing mine yet and what better excuse to take a week off the bike.

Moving on again.

Chicrosscup #11 last week marked my first top top 10 finish out of my last 4 races.  I got a great start, sitting 2nd or 3rd for half a lap, but parlaying that start into a great finish continues to evade me.  I’m not sure why.  One thing I am sure of however is that I belong on the SS, I doubt I’ll ever use gears again except on the road bike.

There is only one race left in the Chicago Cyclocross Cup and it’s the Illinois State Championship at Montrose Harbor next Sunday, my backyard!  I still haven’t cracked the top 5 this year so that’s the goal, hoping the home court advantage is worth something.

Results so far:

7th, 9th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 11th, 8th, 16th, 23rd, 13th, 10th (bold italics are geared races) Good enough to be sitting 8th overall in the series. 


4 Responses to “Bastardos!”

  1. Bill Martin November 29, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Sorry about the bikes Brad … bummer :( Hope you kill it next weekend …o/o

  2. KanyonKris November 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Sad to hear your bikes were stolen. It’s a bad feeling. I had a nice mountain bike stolen a few years ago.

    Good luck in the CX cup race.

  3. Karl November 29, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Damn! You leave Uta’h and all the God-fearing people are replaced by Theiv’in juv’niles. That’s enough to piss one self off!

  4. William November 30, 2010 at 2:59 am #

    Sorry to hear about the bikes, that is a total bummer. I am still upset about having my mountainbike stolen in 1999 :-(

    Hope the insurance coughs up and you can get something nice and shiny to make up for it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

