Single Speeds Are Stupid

2 Nov

I could be jumping to conclusions here but after 7 consecutive cross races this season on my SS and just 2 races with gears (both yesterday) I’ve decided that single speeds are stupid.  To be more specific, single speeds are stupid for cyclocross.

On the SS just when you get wound up to speed you lose it all in a tight corner, chicanes or an uphill.  A constant battle of winding up to only be unwound again moments later.  The thing is, I had no idea this is what was happening until I jumped on a geared bike.

It was a revelation.  I didn’t feel like I was battling the bike, the bike felt great, I felt great.  Traction was better not having to stand and mash on the pedals constantly.  I could stay seated through the slow stuff keeping the rear tire digging. I had my 2nd best finish of the year, moving up a few spots from the last couple races.

In keeping my geared experiment as scientific as possible here are the results so far:

7th, 9th, 9th, 11th, 12th, 11th, 8th (italics for geared races)

I realize its only one race into my experiment but I’m sold. To all you SS’ers out there, join the hoi polloi and give it a go.

7 Responses to “Single Speeds Are Stupid”

  1. Bill Martin November 2, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Wow, that some pretty bold statements. I expect the SS crowd to weigh in soon. Yea, I haven’t tried it but SS for cross seems hard unless you have a gear up that blows your knees out.

  2. Rick S. November 2, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Brad- SS were made for CX. Even Bob S. runs a SS for CX. With all the mud and slop, who wants to worry about gears not working or worse yet, taking apart the drive train after each race. Yuck. You just need to sign up and race in the SS class instead of trying to race against the geared guys. Come back to the light.

    • brkeyes7 November 2, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

      Zero bad weather here in Chicagoland so far. I’m not above changing my tune based on the weather. I still don’t think it matters in a mountain bike race gears or one gear you will perform the same.

  3. bob November 2, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    SS in a non SS category is stupid, for sure, but I’ve been telling you that for years.

    Knife to gunfight and all that noise.

    Originally I rode SS in CX cause i thought it was a slightly easier category than 35+A. Now I’m pretty sure it isn’t, but it is sure easier on bike maintenance.

    I’d never run it against geared riders though, not on purpose at least.

    • brkeyes7 November 2, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      I really think cross is the exception unless its really muddy. SS in mountain bike race is equal to and sometimes better than gears.

      • bob November 2, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

        sandbagger…. oops, wrong blog.

  4. Joel November 3, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    I agree, trying to compete against geared riders on a SS in CX is stupid if your goal is to place as high as possible. However, racing a SS against other SSers in CX is smart!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

