Chicago Cross Cup #1

21 Sep

Sunday started early for me.  7:00 a.m. at Caribou Coffee picking up 5 gallons of coffee for the race, I drank my share and gave away the rest.

Did I mention that Carborocket is sponsoring the Chicago Cross Cup? As if there weren’t reason enough to stop by the CarboRocket tent on race day I present one more, live ukulele music.  Oh, and coffee from Caribou.  Make that 2 reasons.

having heard tales of the professional heckling at cross races in Chicago I expected hecklers for the later racers but Adam was up at the crack of dawn setting up his heckling station and didn’t disappoint.  The Masters 40+ is the first race of the day at 8:45 a.m.  and it’s never too early to heckle in Chicago.  I actually looked forward to his derisive comments each lap and got a much needed morale boost, akin to boot camp I guess.

After my race I thought I’d try my hand at heckling.  I suck at it.  Do not put a microphone in front of me and expect anything but words of encouragement.

Pulling off the spectacle that is the Chicago Cross Cup is no easy feat and requires many people and many hours.  I’m glad I’m not married to Jason, the director, that’s him with the megaphone.  I bet his wife hates him.  Thanks for pulling off a kick-ass season opener though! Oh, and he races in the Cat 1,2,3′s as well. Sounds like someone else I know.

What is the best way to judge the local cross scene or any cycling scene for that matter, the women’s race.  Here are 50+ racers in the Women’s 4′s. Awesome!

Back to the most important race of the day, the Masters 40+.  I paid close attention to J-Pow and it paid off, I got the hole shot on 70+ racers. Yeah. Really.

OK, it might have been the skinsuit from Stupidbike.  I loved how that thing slides off and on the seat so effortlessly.  I’m still wearing it as a matter of fact. Or it might have been the luck of the call-up draw, either way I’ve made to the call-ups for race #2 and that’s what matters.

I may have gone out a wee bit hard as I started to fade a bit on the last lap, ended up 7th. Very pleased with the result and can’t wait to go after team Verdigris that swept the podium.  Speaking of ChiCross, it’s a pretty big deal out here in Flatlandia, next race is 2 weeks out and already over 300 pre-registered with several classes sold out.

10 Responses to “Chicago Cross Cup #1”

  1. evilbanks September 21, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Nice man, way to get after it. The flatlanders don’t know what hit them.

  2. Rico September 22, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    time to upgrade that rickshaw your pushing around

    • brkeyes7 September 22, 2010 at 7:23 am #

      Are you making fun of my pony? I think the pony just needs some new shoes to make the upgrade to racehorse.

  3. Blackdog September 22, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Enough about the Cross. How is the pizza? Deep Dish or Thin Crust?

    • brkeyes7 September 26, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      Thin is in

  4. Rick S. September 22, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Nice work. That video you posted on Twitter was very cool. the CX scene in CH seems massive.

  5. mark September 23, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Strong work. Skinsuit looks dang sexy. However, we need to work on your number pinning skills. You might be able to get away with that at a cross race, but it would never fly at a proper fashion show (a.k.a. road race).

    I can give you some pointers on the number if you want to look like a true roadie. But you probably don’t, because it would also require shaving your legs.

    • brkeyes7 September 26, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

      Do tell, I’m a slave to fashion.

  6. mike September 23, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Good job, Brad! I hope the MN cross scene is as good as Chicago’s!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Chicago Cross Cup #1 « brad keyes -- Topsy.com - September 23, 2010

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brandon Newcomer, CarboRocket. CarboRocket said: Chicago Cross Cup #1: http://wp.me/p8Qe2-KE [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

