Utahhh!

20 Sep

It’s been just over 2 weeks now and I’ve finally cone to grips with the fact that I pedaled the PCP2P 2 hours slower than last year. 2 freaking hours!  Yeah it was hard but last year was even harder.  Enough about the race you already know it’s a bitch.

On to the PCP2P ride.  The first 3 hours were complete single track bliss.  I spent the whole time riding with Dave Harris and Fatty.  Just tooling along having a good time singing songs and possibly irritating fellow racers.  What could be better than Utah single track with friends for 3 hours? Pretty much nothing and certainly not the next 7 hours.

This is what I do in a feed zone, get on my bike and ride.

This is what Elden does, looks for sympathy.  For what? His hands hurt. Whatever, sac up!

I really wish I would have felt better at the finish so I could mingle and schmooze with everyone that I haven’t seen for several months but I was too busy curled up in a ball trying to recover.  It took me almost 10 and one half hours to finish.  I’ve become a soft and pale city boy.  It is what it is.

The weekend came and went too fast.  I did manage to squeeze in some Corner Canyon dirt, Bayou and a visit to the lab.

Mountain bike racing is OVER! I am pretty excited about that since no matter how hard I look there just aren’t any mountains to be found in Chicago.  I am hereby declaring my official new cycling discipline to be cyclocross.  I even have the first race of the Chicago Cross Cup under my belt and I couldn’t be more pleased.  More on that tomorrow.

6 Responses to “Utahhh!”

  1. mark September 21, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    You racing with multiple gears for cross or just the one?

    • brkeyes7 September 21, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      One gear, one bike, one set of wheels and occasionally one-handed. You racing cross this year?

  2. evilreview September 21, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    It makes me so happy that I’m in every picture but one.

    • brkeyes7 September 21, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

      That’s because I miss you. I can now see you whenever I want.

  3. Nick September 21, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    Brad it was good to see you toe the line with us mortals!
    Thanks again for the sweet T shirt it made my day…
    Nick

  4. Kendra September 22, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

    Good to see you at the race. Forgot to tell you to tell Tasha “hi”…Tell Tasha I said “hi”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

