My Death Confirmed

18 Jul

Even though I died with a bang it was completely devoid of drama.  As I hiked my bike all the way down from the very top of Solitude I told everyone that asked that I had double flatted.  That wasn’t really true it just seemed like the easiest thing to say without having to explain myself.  I mean who has time to listen to a story at race pace?

I got a big hole in my tire on the very first rocky section and the Stans didn’t seal until it hit 5 pounds of pressure.  Or, so I thought.  I wasted my only air cartridge getting it back up to about 40 pounds before it started blowing air again.  I went ahead and changed the flat thinking maybe I could bum some air off another racer while I hiked off the mountain.  The more I thought about it the more stupid it sounded, “hey, can I have your air because I only brought one?”

I said nothing and hiked it out.  I can’t complain too much, it’s the only flat I’ve had all year.  Too bad it had to be on my last ICUP race of the year.  Next up, Butte 100.  I guess I better start training.

Congrats to Sam for the W and everyone that hung in there just to finish, It looked like it hurt a lot.

3 Responses to “My Death Confirmed”

  1. Rick S. July 18, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    Sorry about the flat. You were flying (as always) until that happened. And the sleeveless was the right call today.

  2. Brandon S. July 20, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    You know you would have had more fun riding the Nebo Loop with us on Sat.

  3. Bill Martin July 20, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    ARGH, sorry about the tire … when Stans fail, they fail big … see you at the Butte 100

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

