Sundance Niceness

2 Jun

# 7 in the 12 race Intermountain Cup series, Sundance now marks the spot on the calendar where one can see the end of the mountain bike race season. It left me feeling a little melancholy if not a little slow or maybe everyone else is hitting their stride and just getting faster.

This picture shows the only time of the race where I would be in the lead, the first 100 yards.

IMG_4327

I quickly fell back to about 5th before hitting the tight single track where I lost sight of Chris and wouldn’t see him again until the finish.

Trying to pass became the the theme of the day and I think having a good passing strategy would have payed off big time. My strategy went something like this, I approach a racer in front of me and ride their wheel for a minute making sure they know I’m there and most would just pull over. If my riding their wheel didn’t communicate the fact that I’d like to get by then I would say in the most polite way imaginable, “whenever you’re comfortable can I get by?” I think I erred on the polite side of things.

Then there was racer “X” who after riding his wheel for 10 minutes and asking repeatedly in the most polite way imaginable if I could get by, I even made it clear I wasn’t in his class, finally says to me, “take it if you can.” What? Really? OK, dickhead. I didn’t call him that or say anything but muscled around him in a corner nearly taking both of us down.

Why? I don’t get it. Every single other racer I passed, and there were dozens and dozens of course because I’m speedy you know, went out of their way to let me by. I guess I shouldn’t complain since I only had one problem but that one dickhead really pissed me off.

Oh yeah, I almost forgot because I got all worked up again writing about it but I ended up 3rd running a 34×21.

16 Responses to “Sundance Niceness”

  1. Bob June 2, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    Rider X was bad, Racer, PAz, Jack and I all had the same issue, till I was mean.

  2. mark June 2, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    I wasn’t rider X but I was still a dickhead. But only because someone was a dickhead first. I had a guy on my wheel, asking to get by at the beginning of the single track where there’s literally nowhere to pass. He kept yelling at me to get over, and I kept telling him I would when there was someplace to do it. After he kept on me, I told him to shut the…up.

    I let him by as soon as the trail widened and then proceeded to ride his wheel because he wasn’t in fact faster than me. The guy behind me starts yelling at him saying “good thing you got around since you’re so much faster.” Then both of us passed on the next up and never saw the guy again.

    Other than this incident, though, I found the other racers to be very courteous and good about letting people by when it was reasonable. That being said, I don’t get why people like racing on singletrack. Riding, yes, but for racing, singletrack is way overrated.

  3. dug June 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    why is it that it’s guys who come middle of the pack who are dickheads about it? you know, if you’re a pro, and you steal the hole shot from bart g, sure, don’t let him by.

    but if you’re average joe, and you’re keeping guys back so you can take 6th instead of 7th? get the f$%ck out of the way.

  4. KanyonKris June 2, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    MTB race course axiom: the better for riding, the worse for racing. Case in point, Sundance compared to Five Mile Pass.

    The only slack I can give the dickheads is they are new to ICup and haven’t yet figured out it’s just for fun (some never do). No big recognition, no big prize money. You police/categorize yourself. Doesn’t this all say “just for fun”? But I guess egos are on the line, and fantasies about racing glory.

    Speaking of dicks, did Sundance really charge people to pre-ride? Seems to me if you host a race you should allow pre-riding the week before for free (they’re not taking the lift). Sundance is the only venue sticky on pre-riding, hence the dick label.

    But congrats, Brad, on the 3rd place.

    • brkeyes7 June 2, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

      You’re supposed to pay to pre-ride? I never have but then again maybe they charge for the lift which is understandable.

  5. andy June 2, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    why is it nearly the end of the mtb racing season? it’s only june 2!

    • brkeyes7 June 2, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

      Just ICUP racing I guess, there are still a lot of other races all the way through October.

  6. Aaron June 2, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    Well, if that’s your slow day, I’ll take your slow day any time. My guess is that we all ran into the same racer X. At least I know it was the same for Bob and me. Add me to the list of mean people who bullied past.

    And Racer X, if you’re out there, I hope you’re not feeling picked on. Just be cool about letting people pass next time. It will only take a second.

  7. Grizzly Adam June 2, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    Um…did he have a kit from a prominent bike shop in a popular destination town in south eastern Utah?

    cuz yeah….

    • brkeyes7 June 2, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

      that may or may not be named after a famous ride from said area? Bingo!

  8. Bob June 2, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    in my defense, I tried to find said rider post race to apologize and such, no luck though, oh yeah, BK, I gave the Holleys your gift certificate.

  9. Dave Harris June 3, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    I found the solution to this problem. In my favorite events passing is never an issue unless that bear or skunk or cow or porcupine won’t get out of my way.

    • brkeyes7 June 3, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

      Dave, your solution brings with it another problem, I’m deathly afraid of the dark and the bogeyman.

  10. RyanT June 3, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    You need to learn the fine art of Bicycle Checking.

  11. Tim D June 4, 2009 at 11:42 am #

    I remember a fair few years back doing one of the few races I ever did. A noted UK pro of the time came up behind me and another guy I was racing. He was a tad less polite than you. “Get out of my f***ing way! This is my f***ing livelihood” He was a lap ahead of us and way out in front and still couldn’t wait to get past. Unfortunately in our inept, amateur uselessness, we both separately crashed into him, accidentally honest.

  12. ricky June 5, 2009 at 6:28 pm #

    nice job brother keyes. remind me to give you the claw next time i see you. what exactly is a dickhead anyway?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

