Draper ICUP #6 Stan Crane Memorial

28 May

Someone asked me before the race how I thought I would do.  I said, “I have no expectations.”  I am such a MOFOing liar!  Of course I had expectations, I wanted to win.   I kept telling myself that I had no expectations in order to calm myself and enter into a Zen state of mind that I like to be in before the start of any race.  It’s the state of mind that does not do or think or stress or care.  It just is.  I can get there pretty easy and like to stay there for the start and part of the first lap of a race.  I sometimes have a hard time getting back to the race.  On Monday the water crossing woke me to the fact that I was in nearly last place.  Screw Zen, I gotta pedal.

Base camp.  With an extra 4  hours of waiting due to weather and course changes I was glad to have the shade.   I also went through 10 gallons of CarboRocket.

IMG_4214

My favorite Carborocket addict.

IMG_4219

Alex,  I know you have to say Monavie but I know what’s really in your bottle.   Your secret is safe with me.

IMG_4224

2-live crew.

IMG_4229

The man, the myth, the legend.  Ken the Draper trails mastermind.

IMG_4233

1st place finish for newest CarboRocket addict, Senor Stark.

IMG_4272

Way to rock it Tasha, you’ll get them next time.

IMG_4279

1st, 3rd and 2nd respectively.  Nice work girls!

IMG_4280

Rick, your gloves are white not camouflage.

IMG_4289

I must say the new Vassago team shorts look really good even with the over color coordination I have going on.  Thanks Vassago!

IMG_4287

I’ll take 2nd to Chris any day.  The dude was on fire and could not be denied, congrats!  Bob, you are looking way too comfortable in the tweetie chair.

draperpodiumpic

Thanks to team Revolution for the killer cheese burger after the race and all the ICUP volunteers for putting on a great race.

5 Responses to “Draper ICUP #6 Stan Crane Memorial”

  1. grizzly adam May 28, 2009 at 8:18 am #

    Why do I look like I want to kill you in that photo?

    • brkeyes7 May 28, 2009 at 5:14 pm #

      I have no idea, I think I had just said you were handsome or something.

  2. Aaron May 28, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    If I were Rick, I’d frame that photo.

  3. Rick S May 28, 2009 at 9:12 am #

    That is probably the last time you would see me smiling during that race. I suffered.

  4. Craig May 28, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    Hi Brad, your package of CarboRocket just arrived. Thanks so much – very nice of you and muchly appreciated. I stuck the sticker on my cat.

    Cheers,
    C.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

