Soldier Hollow ICUP #5

18 May

Seriously, Tasha needs to find a new mechanic. Jamie? I guess that’s what she gets for racing a bike I just built up the day before.

She found herself out front again, feeling good on the new Vassago Bandersnatch when the chain jams after a rapid shift. Dead stop. Not one but 2 racers, one out of the race with a broken chain and the other just wanting to help, stopped to see what they could do. They ended up having to take the wheel off and finally got her rolling again after a few minutes. I think that may be against the rules. Good thing Ed wasn’t around to DQ her.

It happened twice and I take full responsibility AGAIN. Turns out the Bandersnatch has longer chainstays than her old 26er and when I built it up I measured the chain off the old bike to get a length for the new build. Chan was way too short.

Live and learn and maybe fire your mechanic. She ended up 5th. Sorry!

The only excuse I have for my race is that I completely missed my mouth with the GU and ended up smearing some of it all over my face before stopping to root around in the dirt for any precious globs that dripped off my chin. I still had another lap to go, you would have done the same thing.

I’m going with calling Soldier Hollow my taper race for ICUP #6 in Draper next week. Yep, that’s what it was as I came in 5th. Bob won in convincing fashion but what he doesn’t know yet is that Soldier Hollow was his peak for the year.

Soldier Hollow was my first race and only my second ride on the Jabberwocky, isn’t it lovely. My initial impression of the bike is that after only 3 hours of ride time it feels like i’ve been riding it for years. Love it! It has some cool features that I’ll go into in another post that I think are pure genius.

On another note, Kenny didn’t die of a nose bleed like I thought he would and was the first person to finish the Kokopelli Trail Race on Saturday. Congrats! Sorry, I missed it but I’ll be there next year for sure.

19 Responses to “Soldier Hollow ICUP #5”

  1. UtRider May 18, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    Did Kenny do KTR fully rigid? Your new frame & fork look sweet. I need to try riding a ss one of these days.

  2. KanyonKris May 18, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    When i first looked at the photo I thought you’d lost a tooth in a crash or something. But upon zooming in I could see it was just dirt. Mmm, Soldier Hollow top soil.

  3. KanyonKris May 18, 2008 at 10:04 pm #

    Another thing, the Carbo Rocket train is picking up speed! Bart G. and KC Holley posted about rolling with Carbo Rocket for the Soldier Hollow race and both had very positive things to say. Between the Rocket and yurts you’ll be out of the mortgage business soon. :-)

  4. kenny May 18, 2008 at 10:34 pm #

    I’m liking the jaberwalkys. UtR, i decided last year after doing the KTR on a rigid fork that any ride over 10 hours, a suspension fork is a must.

  5. kenny May 18, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    The dork bikes gone, but with that dirt in your mouth you still kind of look like a dork.

  6. brkeyes7 May 19, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    KK-Thank Jolene for the photos. Dirt is full of electrolytes.

    Kenny-You can take the boy off the dork bike but you can’t take the dork out of the boy…or something like that.

  7. matt May 19, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    Ive done that same thing with the chain.

    Now you have carbo rocket, just create some sort of intravenous set up so that there are no more ingestion problems. I see it making ya lots of green backs. Just include a disclaimer.

  8. tibiker May 19, 2008 at 7:50 am #

    My shop is always open for you.

    If we can convince our wives to go SS, they won’t have to worry about those shifting problems.

  9. Andy H May 19, 2008 at 9:01 am #

    I’ve got to thank you for your mechanical “glitches” on Tasha’s bike. I’ve been able to store up some ammo now for the inevitable race when it happens to Rhonda’s bike!

  10. Fish May 19, 2008 at 9:26 am #

    I know this guy, down in Provo. His name is Racer. I hear he’s a helluva mechanic.

    I’m just about to convert my Serotta Ti to a dork bike of sorts, but more of a geek bike. I’ll keep you informed.

  11. Brad Mullen May 19, 2008 at 9:48 am #

    How you can go that fast on a SS rigid, just blows me away. Looks like you’ll be on top of it next week after Saturday’s “practice.” I rode with your LL Carbo Rocket yesterday and it surprised me. I cut it to 1.5 scoops in a big bottle and that was real nice. I think you might be on to something.

  12. Bob May 19, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    peak, smeak, the afterburners haven’t even been fired :)

  13. Rick S. May 19, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    I have a feeling you are going to do something special at the Draper race next week. Home court advantage.

  14. KanyonKris May 19, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    I hear he’ll be riding in a tutu, won’t that be special! ;-)

  15. Adam May 19, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    You look at least 25 years older in that picture. Something about the lines the dirt created, the missing tooth, and the pained expression.

    But the bike sure looks good.

  16. Sleepy May 21, 2008 at 7:31 am #

    Love the bike. How does it compare to the Dork bike?

  17. andy May 21, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    is there anything sexier than seeing one’s SO in full kit gutting out a hard ride?

  18. brkeyes7 May 21, 2008 at 11:45 am #

    Sleepy-Full review coming.

  19. Tony May 21, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    GU? Is that what was driping of your top tube? I would’ve thought it was something else the way that you are enjoying that new bike.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

