RAWROD Day 2

29 Apr

As I was suffering up the switchbacks on Friday I was thinking that I just wanted to go home and that no way am I doing this again tomorrow. I don’t care what kind of heckling I have to endure. Maybe I’ll just ramble around camp all day clipping my toenails and waiting for everyone or go float down the river. Anything but getting back on that stupid damn dork bike again.

Of course, I changed my mind as soon as everyone started showing up that night bringing excitement and nervous energy to camp. Most importantly, I certainly didn’t want to miss out on being witness to any of the suffering that I knew would take place.

Here’s Mark Warner already in the fetal position at the half way point.

Surprisingly, there seemed to be very little suffering or people were just really good at hiding it.

That’s the longest tongue I’ve ever seen.

The highlight of the day for me was riding with and watching Eric complete his first RAWROD. The dude has never been on a bike for longer than 2 hours in his life and he did it on a rigid bike no less. Sorry, no props for the single speed because we all know its the easy way out but way to go bro! I also really dig the Highland Games kit you were sporting. Is that a kilt?

I don’t think I saw a single person finish who didn’t have a smile plastered on their face. Of course, how could you not smile when someone hands you a brew?

Even BotchedExperiment Dan was grinning or is he gritting his his teeth to keep the vomit in? He is looking a little pasty.

Friday was hard and not very enjoyable but it was incredibly satisfying. I ate nothing but gels and blocks. Saturday was just a total blast and I ate nothing but cookies, licorice and lots of mooched food. I loved every minute of it except for about 8 min at mile 80ish when I decided that I had had enough of sitting on a bike seat and pedaling in circles. Kenny and I had a cold brew at the top of Hardscrabble and I immediately felt better.

So much better that I began thinking that the back to back RAWROD should become a tradition. Who’s in?

I took a lot pictures of people climbing Murphy’s and at the top of Horse Thief. Help yourself.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/79867483@N00/sets/72157604797371145

14 Responses to “RAWROD Day 2”

  1. dug April 29, 2008 at 2:24 pm #

    i think the b2b white rims should be a tradition too. i’ll be the first to hand you a beer at the top.

  2. KanyonKris April 29, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    Good post and pics.

    I wish someone had snapped a picture of me coming up that last slope of Murphy Hogback. I was suffering and I’m curious how it showed on my face. Oh, well, I’m sure I’ll suffer again.

  3. mark April 29, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    Thanks for snapping the pics, brad. I for one can’t imagine riding back-to-back. I did a road ride on Monday and after 20 miles had nothing left. I didn’t even think about riding today because I simply didn’t want to get back on a bike. I’ve also had this unbelievable craving for brats and ice cream (not together, though) for the last two days.

    Actually, I take that back about not wanting to get out on my bike–I want to get out on my single speed. Can’t wait for soccer season to end so I have time to ride my MTB during the week.

  4. Jonathan April 29, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    Brad,

    Good times this weekend…..many thanks to you and Kenny for putting together such a great event. That is my new favorite ride. Thanks for taking some great pics and the carbo rocket. How does a guy buy some of that from you? I dig it….no cramps!

  5. egaoiran April 29, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    That was a blast being there with everyone. Thanks for the encouragement at the top of every climb. I’m already looking forward to next year.

  6. Dave Harris April 30, 2008 at 7:33 am #

    Sweet 2 days of riding! Fast SS lap too. Good to see the rules in the Church of the Blue Dome are a bit relaxed ;)

    Do you and Kenny have any interest in a fast KT ride this spring?

  7. Sleepy May 1, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    can you send me the original of me at the top of the last climb? I didn’t see it on your flikr link on your site. Thanks

  8. Rachelle May 1, 2008 at 6:42 pm #

    Brad- What happened to the post ride cowboy hat and underwear?

  9. Rachelle May 1, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    By the way, that wasn’t Rachelle’s comment. This is Rick (Not my real name).

  10. dug May 1, 2008 at 7:35 pm #

    nice one shelle. we ALL want to see that. cuz you know. if we had to pick a guy . . .

  11. brkeyes7 May 2, 2008 at 7:11 am #

    Rachelle-Kenny beat me to the punch. I hate having to compete for attention. His pic is on the sidebar.

  12. Bob May 2, 2008 at 8:54 am #

    that pic disturbs me

  13. brkeyes7 May 2, 2008 at 9:00 am #

    Bob-He does look a little “happy”

  14. matt May 2, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    i’m in . looks fun.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

