White Rim TT

27 Apr

What’s better than riding around the White Rim in one day? Not many things.

Chris put the bee in my bonnet about time trialing the White Rim and Adam suggested we try it the day before Kenny’s annual RAWROD.

Somehow I found myself committed to ride the White Rim in one day on two consecutive days. This could possibly be one of the few things better than riding the White Rim in one day or it could end up being something much worse.

I got out of bed Friday morning at 3:50 a.m. I can’t believe it either. I met Kenny at his house and we headed out in the FnJ. Getting up that early apparently doesn’t agree with my stomach and I’m afraid Kenny will be reminded of that every time he gets in his car for the next week, possibly month.

We picked up Adam at the gas station by the Canyonlands exit North of Moab and headed out to the top of the Horse Thief swithcbacks. This is where everyone would camp that night for Saturdays RAWROD and the begining point of our ride on Friday.

Our plan was to ride in a clockwise direction and finish right where we started.

The three of us were together for about 35-40 miles when Kenny decided he needed to get moving. He was the mouse and I was the cat for the next 60 miles. I was stopping to pee every 5 miles or so and he would motor off, I would then try to catch him for the next 15 minutes and we would ride together until I had to pee again. Yes, I was well hydrated, so well hydrated that at mile 65 my camelback was empty.

The pace was such that I always felt like I was on the verge of a blow up. Luckily, it didn’t’ happen until the bottom of Horse Thief which came at about mile 98. The previous 10 miles I could tell that either Kenny was suffering or he was saving up for the climb up Horse Thief. I was feeling really good at the time and couldn’t wait to hit the climb.

I was just ahead of him at the bottom of the climb at mile 98 and the moment we turned to start climbing I was finished, kaput, done. I thought for sure I was going to have to walk. We were together most of the climb and I kept waiting for him to stop so I could stop too. Much to my disappointment he just kept going. I was miserable, any harder and I would have vomited.

He crested a couple bike lengths ahead of me and both of us finished in 7:39.

No way was I doing it again on Saturday.  More on that later and lots of pictures.

13 Responses to “White Rim TT”

  1. kenny April 27, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    After two days of eating gels and a half pound burgar at rays, I can understand how someone could be that stinky… But the ride down? What’s up with that? I sprayed the seats in the FnJ with febreeze. Good as new…

  2. KanyonKris April 27, 2008 at 8:19 pm #

    I’m in awe of you back-to-backers. On Saturday it was like you guys were fresh as daisies. Amazing.

  3. Matt April 27, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    thats pretty cool. actually pretty amazing.
    anxious to see the pictures.

  4. Chris Plesko April 28, 2008 at 7:03 am #

    Nice job boys! Now I have a carrot myself for a future ride :)

  5. Mike W April 28, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    You and Kenny are animals! One White Rim trip is enough to hurt the strongest of riders. Can’t wait to see what I missed out on.

  6. Brad Mullen April 28, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    TT’n the WR – on a SS no less. Priceless! Incredible feat guys. Great story too.

  7. Adam April 28, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Brad,

    I am going to be more careful about what I suggest on your blog! :D

    It was a great weekend, tons of fun. I am ready to go back. Thanks for leaving your tracks out there for me to follow.

  8. Adam April 28, 2008 at 9:04 am #

    Oh, and I think I may steal the Brat tradition for the Wasatch Classic.

  9. Forrest April 28, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Brad, you would be proud, rode my bike for the first time today, commuted to work. However I still got snowboard fever and plan on shredding till the snow melts.

  10. brkeyes7 April 29, 2008 at 3:00 pm #

    Kenny-Sorry about those seats.

    KK-You’ll be there for the B2B next year.

    Matt-It was a great weekend. Maybe next year.

    Chris-FYI, I was using a 34×17 and there’s no doubt that clockwise is the faster direction.

    Mike W-Dude, where were you?

    Mullen-You went the wrong way.

    Adam-It was a fantastic idea.

    Forrest-You’ll be ready for 5 mile pass no problem.

  11. Forrest April 29, 2008 at 3:54 pm #

    The Bird is still open, going shredding with friends and drinking brews this weekend. No racing for me until July at least, but wait the series is pretty much over by then, lame, they need to bump the series later into summer.

  12. wunnspeed May 6, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    Man… I’d love to do that ride just once, let alone two days in a row. You’re a stud there Mr.

  13. fernandoj May 14, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    amazing pic of that hill…almost 8 hours and 100 miles? not a bad training!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

