White Rim In One Day

15 Apr

I never tire of this ride. It’s always a blast and it always hurts. I think I’ve done it a couple times a year for the last 10 years or so.

Recently, as in the last few weeks, I’ve become obsessed with how fast I could do the whole loop in one day. Chris Plesko just posted a 7:59 which seems really fast to me so that’s gonna be my benchmark.

I don’t care about any rim to rim times.  I’m only interested with the time to complete the entire loop. I’ve heard talk in the past about fast times only to then hear it was rim to rim and not the whole loop. If you’ve got a fast time I want to hear about it.

While I’m doing the loop this month I won’t be time trialing but just having a good time as part of the annual RAWROD event. Of course, there will be competitions like who can ride Murphy’s, Hard Scrabble and Horse Thief without dabbing and who can eat the most brats the night before.

I’m pretty sure whoever wins the brat contest won’t be a contender for the other contests. I could be wrong.

So, how fast has the White Rim been done and in which direction?

34 Responses to “White Rim In One Day”

  1. Adam April 15, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    I think I once heard a time of around 6 hours… but I don’t know the details. Chris’s 7:59 is pretty darn fast.

    Let’s go TT it on Friday, then that night eat as many Brats as we can, and on Saturday enjoy the group ride. :)

  2. andy April 15, 2008 at 10:18 am #

    my family and i were just at canyonlands on thursday looking at the trail wondering how long it would take to do the whole thing. my wife would like to come out and ride it with me and i’m guessing it will take 2-3 days for her to do so.

    good luck!

  3. dug April 15, 2008 at 12:18 pm #

    white rim is hard.

  4. sly April 15, 2008 at 12:29 pm #

    eric jones did it in 7 hrs 10 years ago. but he had to keep waiting for me.

  5. KanyonKris April 15, 2008 at 3:45 pm #

    I rode White Rim with Chris Plesko last October and even though it was a RAWROD-like mellow cruise, I could tell he was plenty strong and I’m not surprised he had that kind of time. This topic came up on the ride and I recall some discussion about a 7 hour time, but it was a local and kept low key.

    I’m very much looking forward to RAWROD (my 1st). I really enjoyed the long miles on the dirt and the fantastic scenery. Cholla was a nice desert riding hit, but I need a big fix like RAWROD – especially since it’s snowing again!

  6. Lynda April 15, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    Well Dave Harris is the WR ho and has ridden it more times than anyone else I know – 12 times he claims. His fastest loop starting at Mineral and going clockwise is 6:20.

    Now a couple of years ago there was energy to burn in October. Dave and I rode WR clockwise in 7:41 on Saturday and counterclockwise on Sunday. He finished Sundays jaunt in 7:15 and I rolled in about 30 mins after that. My combined time for the B2B WR’s was just under 16 hours.

    Thems are all gearie times. The only SS time I have is 9 hours clockwise starting at Mineral the day after RimRide a couple of weeks ago.

    So ya now should really think about posting an SS B2B WR time of under 16 hours as your goal eh?

  7. brkeyes7 April 15, 2008 at 6:20 pm #

    Adam-I like that idea. You in for it?

    Lynda-Wow! So, now I’m gonna make my benchmark 7 hours. TT on Friday and have fun on Sat. No handicaps for SS. Maybe handicaps the other way around.

  8. eric April 15, 2008 at 9:59 pm #

    Instead of riding it this year maybe I’ll jump in the support vehicle.

  9. Adam April 16, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Brad,

    Let’s do it!

    I am leaning toward gears at this point, but maybe I will bring the SS.

  10. Chris Plesko April 16, 2008 at 12:52 pm #

    I’ve heard sub 6:30 by at least 2, one of which is Harris.

    If you’re going to try for sub 7, bring a big gear and go the easier direction. And pray for no wind ;) And no drafting if you go in a group?

    I don’t believe for a second my 7:59 will stand up to any serious challenge. In fact I’m pretty sure I can beat it by a bunch myself.

  11. brkeyes7 April 16, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    eric-You need to have a broken bone or bike to get in the support vehicle. I’m sure I can help you out with that.

    Adam-I doubt Kenny would want to tag along with us what do you think?

    Chris-You have target on you back now.

  12. guy smith April 16, 2008 at 5:47 pm #

    brad, did it on my ss 2 weeks ago. it was soo awesome! we finished under 10 and i felt i could of shaved hrs off of that. lynda told me she cleaned horsethief on the way out so i forced myself not to get off. i thought i was going to pull the bars off the bike.

  13. Bob April 16, 2008 at 6:26 pm #

    i could do it in 5:45 if i wanted to, but i don’t, so i won’t, plus i would have to pee. Do pee breaks count against, or is it just moving time? I got it, do it in 10 mile TT segments, race hard, set up camp, repeat with next ten miles, next day, dang, I bet i could do less than 5 hours that way, backwards.

    Wish i could go, alas, will likely be getting dropped in a road race.

  14. Zach April 17, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    Ive ridden white rim 15 or so times. Usually 9+hrs. I rode 8:45 last week. Times should be the full loop including stops. Total time from car to car. Next time back to back.

  15. kenny April 18, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    Of course I would be there, that is… if my wife is not working.

  16. Andy H April 18, 2008 at 7:04 am #

    Are you shooting for a sub 8hr on the dork bike or the geek bike?

  17. brkeyes7 April 18, 2008 at 7:42 am #

    Zach-Definitely car to car time with all stops factored in. Only way to do it.

    Andy H-Dork bike all the way!

  18. Andy H April 18, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    “Andy H-Dork bike all the way!”
    Somewhere a lonely Walt Works just shed a tear :)

  19. Adam Lisonbee April 18, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    Brad,

    I will shoot you an email and let’s work out the details. I am getting excited about the desert. Back to Back WR, and then 3 weeks later the Kokopelli Trail, things are looking up in the world!

  20. Toph April 20, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    I just did a White Rim with Zach a week ago and had the time of my life…literally: 8:48 minutes, total ride time. We rode the entire day together until the sandpits before the horsethief bench climb and then Zach put about 3 minutes on me that I just could’nt make up. Car to Car times are the only way to account for an accurate white rim time. It was my 8th time riding the rim. I’m ready for #9

  21. Chris Plesko April 22, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    My time is car to car. Only way to be repeatable.

  22. brkeyes7 April 22, 2008 at 5:09 pm #

    Chris-Adam, Kenny and myself are doing it on Friday as a TT and yes, total time car to car is what we are counting. Hopefully, somewhere between 7-8 hours and SS. Then for giggles we are hooking up wit aobut 40 or so people to do it again on Saturday but not as a TT. I hope I can do it back to back without dying.

  23. Chris Plesko April 24, 2008 at 7:35 am #

    On Saturday I’d just tie a tow rope to the sag wagon and have them throw me beers.

  24. Jah-no-bra April 25, 2008 at 6:10 am #

    Did One nighter leaving at 5:30pm with Jdubs/Zach/Jimmy/Alex/ pretty epic
    with lightning flashes all around us on the horizon 30-40 miles away, seeing
    Orange /Purple flashes made us ride pretty fast. All was good, with a good pace when I crashed on a small drop and broke my hand. Rode last 40 miles
    one handed . Made it around car to car around 11hrs ,what a crazy night. One
    word discription for our ride “Ominous”.

  25. Pataspen September 17, 2008 at 1:48 am #

    As near as I can tell, the record for the whole loop was set by former Olympic ski racer Jeremy Nobis. In 1998 he completed the loop in 6:21.

    Which is about half the time it took me to complete my first loop. I did it solo in 1995, on the longest day of the year. Temps hit 100 degrees by 9:30 a.m. I hit the wall by 60 miles and started having hallucinations. Somehow I managed to survive till sunset and was able to make it back to camp. I didn’t see another person for the first 90 miles.

    Subsequent rides (with friends and with a LOT more water) were a heck of a lot more fun.

    • Casey Churko July 19, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      please describe the hallucinations. how much water did you bring?

      • brkeyes7 July 20, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

        Only do it in the Spring or Fall, Summer will kill you. Plan on 200oz of water depending on the heat. 2 bottles on your bike, 2 in your jersey and a 100 oz camelbak work great.

  26. Kevin April 14, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Curious, as I really can’t tell from these posts….which IS the easier direction? Thank you!

  27. scott miller April 19, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    On 12 Apr 2011 did the white rim counterclockwise self supported. I am wondering what the fastest counterclockwise time is with no support. It took me about 10 hours. Had two 16oz water bottles and a 100oz cameback.

  28. scott miller April 19, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    BTW, started from mineral bottom rd.

  29. Bigger Mig May 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I did it a few years back and didn’t give a fuck how long it took me. Now, after reading this, I want to do it again. This time I’m not going to give a fuck how long it takes me.

    • brkeyes7 May 12, 2011 at 4:42 am #

      Ha!

  30. Casey Churko July 19, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    would love to have a sign up list for anyone looking for a riding partner or group based on date, direction, and goal completion time.

  31. Mark October 20, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    I believe that the best way (not the easiest) is to ride counter-clockwise starting from the top of the Shafer Trail. This saves the wonderful climb up the Safer for the very end, where it deserves to be. Think character, not ease of difficulty.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

