Sansabelt

5 Apr

Here it is. The much hyped Spot brand belt drive mountain bike. Only it has a new name, it’s now known as the Sansabelt model. It’s compatible with a belt drive system but currently only works with a conventional chain setup. I noticed the design has changed from what i saw in pics from Interbike. This design seems too simple. A hacksaw cut in the dropout. I think Ill convert my bike into a belt drive tomorrow.

I told Kenny that he was lucky it was compatible with a regular chain and drive train because he’s never gonna see the the belt drive setup. He says Monday. We’ll see.

Belt drive system aside it is a very nice looking bike and Kenny made it up the hill and back down without the rear end falling apart. Which is more than dug can say.

13 Responses to “Sansabelt”

  1. dug April 5, 2008 at 4:24 pm #

    maybe i should have put a hacksaw cut in my dropout.

  2. brkeyes7 April 5, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    dug-fer sure. It would have taken some of the stress off that top tube and you wouldn’t be shopping for a new bike. So, no.

  3. egaoiran April 5, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    Its a sweet looking ride. Cool concept. Any advantages?

  4. Adam Lisonbee April 5, 2008 at 9:45 pm #

    What are the supposed, or actual benefits to a belt system?

    I think if Kenny wants to be really on the cutting edge he needs to be on that Carbon weave Arantix bike, and have it be a belt drive train. Oh, and it also should be a 650B with drop bars and a flask bottle cage.

    And he should ride it wearing knickers and wool. Or something.

    What was I talking about again? Oh yeah, the belt. So really, what’s the buzz about it. It sounds pretty interesting, but when I think of things on a bike that need massive re-design, the chain is never one that comes up. how do you change the gear size? Do you swap the whole belt out? Is it repairable? C’mon don’t make me look this stuff up on my own!

  5. KanyonKris April 6, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    Sansabelt – good one!

    I’ve got a big rubber band that might work. Call it the energy storage drive. The band gets all stretched out on the climb, then is released on the flat or downhill so you blow by the other riders. I better patent that! ;-)

  6. kenny April 6, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    The belt lasts for the life of the bike. It’s a clean maintenance free drive train. No messy lube. You can change out the cogs for different gear inches and it’s supposed to be more efficient. These claims in my mind are not totally proven on a bike, but for me it’s enough reason to give it a try. Just think of all the crap you’ve put on your chain over the years, or that time that your chain broke as you were climbing a steep hill and you jammed your knee into the stem and you almost puked because of the pain. The drive train is also a lot lighter than rings, cogs and a chain. I’ll let you know how much lighter when I get it. Hopefully this week.

  7. wunnspeed April 7, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    It’s a nice looking system. It’ll only take about 10 more years for the stubborn Germans to realize that it might, just might work and then wait a few more for it to catch on. Pretty bike!

  8. Fish April 7, 2008 at 3:28 pm #

    Brad, this is completely off topic, but my buddy Dan came up with a sweet name for your drink, which I used on a five hour ride on Saturday. He came up with ‘Brad’s All-Day, All-Good Brew.” I agree with your thoughts on making the name one that tells you what it is, so I’d Carbo to make it, “Brad’s All-Day, All-Good Carbo Brew.” I like it, and so I’ll be referring to it as such during my future training rides. I dig the stuff, by the way.

  9. brkeyes7 April 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    Fish-Glad you like it. Ill be bringing plenty to RAWROD. Just call it BADAGCB for short. Kinda rolls off the tongue.

  10. i am matt April 8, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    Mega cool. Does have the potential to squeal like an alternator belt?

  11. KanyonKris April 8, 2008 at 12:51 pm #

    Was that you Highland around 1pm today? Sure looked like you, headed east in pursuit of 3 riders. I was going west in the dork yellow jacket. It didn’t register that it might be you until after we passed.

  12. brkeyes7 April 8, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    KK-Was the guy you saw today on Highland riding a geeky carbon road bike in DNA kit? Nope, not me. I was ummm… at work. Yeah, working.

  13. KanyonKris April 9, 2008 at 7:42 am #

    My mistake. Glad we cleared that up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

