Dork Bike v2.0

4 Mar

The evolution of the dork bike is taking place at a rapid pace. No waiting around millions of years to barely notice any changes in the minutiae. No, the dork bike changes are happening quick and are macrutiaeous. Check it out. I’m pretty sure it will be the next big thing in mountain biking if it already isn’t.

dsc02033.jpg

I haven’t ridden it yet but it is beauuutiful. You know you want one. I think I’m into it maybe $200 tops (beg, borrow or steal) and half that is in tires cause I gotta have the tubeless. I’m just geeky that way.

Jon Hanson hooked me up, once again, with a Surly 1×1 fork that he customized to fit rim brakes on a 29 inch wheel. I owe him big time. Yes, I am now running a 69er bike or 96er depending on how you like it. 29 inches up front with a 26 in the back. Mismatched brakes and now mismatched wheels.

I was going to debut it at ICUP#1 in St.George but I got the flu. Looks like It’ll have to wait till the Cholla Challenge next month unless something else comes up.

Viva el Dork Bike!

p.s. yes, that is mud from Camp Lynda 2 months ago.

12 Responses to “Dork Bike v2.0”

  1. Mike W March 4, 2008 at 9:41 pm #

    Party in the front, all business in the rear. Can’t wait to see it in action next month!

  2. KanyonKris March 4, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    Pink bottle cages are the icing on the cake (wait, I think Gary Fisher has that trademarked).

    What? No above-the-bars friction shifters? I’m disappointed. But maybe I’m confusing retro with dork. :-)

    Dork on, Comrade!

  3. dug March 5, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    that bike is sweet sweetness. but i thought we talked about brakes. i’m all for mismatched, but that would be mechanical disc up front, hydraulic in back. rim brakes are for dinosaurs not dorks.

  4. jruss March 5, 2008 at 8:41 am #

    Nice! Feel free to customize that fork’s paint all you want. Maybe a purple? Just sayin.

  5. je March 5, 2008 at 8:57 am #

    I don’t even know that the word ‘macrutiaeous’ means.

    But I like the pink accents. Suweeeet.

  6. brkeyes7 March 5, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    je-I’m pretty sure no one has ever used that word before. I could be wrong. I just realized it contains all 5 vowels.

  7. sly March 5, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    that bike sucks, get a new scalpel. its only $6500.

  8. brkeyes7 March 5, 2008 at 7:41 pm #

    sly-exactly!

  9. botchedexperiment March 6, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    Dude, 69 is totally geek, not dork.

    If you want to go mismatch dork, you gotta go wayback machine to 24/26 with drop bars. What was that, 1988?

  10. Rick S. March 6, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    Is that a spoke card in the rear wheel? Next you’ll be riding this as a fixie.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apostasy « brad keyes - May 9, 2008

    [...] being said, I am forsaking the Dork Bike. Blasphemous, I know. Allow me to [...]

  2. Cholla Challenge Roll Call « brad keyes - March 31, 2009

    [...] it just doesn’t matter.  I didn’t do great but managed a 3rd place finish on the Dork Bike.  On second thought it probably was the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

