The Future

18 Jan

I’ve not only seen it I’ve experienced it and you can too. It’ll change mountain biking forever.

Last week before Camp Lynda I was in need of some new rubber for the dork bike. My tires were bare down to the threads in places, had little cuts all over them and must be 10 years old.

Allow me to digress a bit. In committing to the dork bike this year I have also made some silent vows for the year. I haven’t mentioned them to anyone until now. I will only speak of one of the vows today. It is this: I vow not purchase anything for my bike all year. No new anything. No new shiny technology or bike part of any kind. I can, however, buy a new chain or tires as they wear out and the obvious tube or two. But that’s it. If I happen to break a seatpost or taco a rim I must beg, borrow or steal the replacement.

I stopped by Revolution and Ryan and Melissa hooked me me up with some Maxxis Monorail tubeless tires. Ryan even mounted them up for me on the spot, what service. Yep, I said tubeless tires. I am now running tubeless tires on the dork bike. It’s practically geeky which seems like it wouldn’t be in keeping the dork bike rules. I had to check my list (yes, I have a list) to make sure I wasn’t breaking any of the dork bike rules. Whaddya know, tubeless tires aren’t on the list anywhere.

tubeless2.jpg

Pic from Adam L.

What a revelation! Unbelievable! I’m a whole new mountain biker with new found skills. They roll over anything and corner like crazy and these babies are plush. I feel like I have a whole inch of travel front and rear. I must also say they make me feel like I’m cheating a little. I’ll never go back to tubes though. I’ve seen the future for me and it’s tubeless.

8 Responses to “The Future”

  1. Rick S. January 18, 2008 at 8:52 am #

    I’m proud of you for switching to tubeless. Or course, you will need to add “Stans” solution to your list of acceptable items to buy. At $19 a bottle, I’m not sharing. Okay, well maybe I’ll share.

  2. Bob January 18, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    My evil plan to overthrow the Luddites of the world is progressing…….

    I so wish i could be down riding hours in the sun with you all this weekend, alas, maybe I’ll snow ride corner canyon.

  3. Phill January 18, 2008 at 11:39 am #

    Don’t you need tubeless wheels. Or are you using tubes. PS. Still awaiting the Dork rules…..

  4. brkeyes7 January 18, 2008 at 11:51 am #

    Phill-Dork rules should be posted next week, I’m waiting for dug to sign a hold harmless agreement before I post them. The wheels are ancient there’s just a rubber rim strip over the spoke holes. So, yes, tubeless.

  5. KanyonKris January 18, 2008 at 11:54 am #

    When I wrote up my cycling plans for 2008, going tubeless was on the top of my list for the MTB side. Now with your report I’m even more motivated.

    http://kanyonkris.blogspot.com/2008/01/cycling-plans-for-2008.html

  6. jamie p January 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm #

    HELLO!!?? We’ve only been telling you how awesome it is for like 2 years now. Glad to see you’ve seen the light. They’re amazing and goatheads are a thing of the past. You can ride corner canyon w/out fear of flats. You also pointed out how great they hook up and how the ride quality improves. Congrats.

  7. fernandoj January 21, 2008 at 6:53 am #

    Tubeless is the most important advance for MTB in the last 10 years, I mean

    – Suspension fork is not really necesary.
    – Disc brakes are good in wet conditions but I don’t need them cause it seldom rainsin my area.
    – Integrated directions and Cranksets are shit, square and ahead forever ;-) I’m going to sell my XT crankset
    – Tubeless are great if you ride a rigid fork combine with 2.1-2.3 tyres at low preassure to filter vibrations ;-)

    I think I’ll switch to rigid fork in the next MTB races (short duration less than an hour for maratons I need my Suntour) . Let’s see what happens

  8. Tony January 23, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    Welcome to the club BK. Add one more thing to buy for the season now that you’re riding tubeless … an air compressor. When that tire bead breaks its’ seal, pumping your tire up with a floor pump is a real problem … or you could just go over to Jamies’ shop and use his stuff like I do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

