Binge and Purge

12 Jan

Lynda Wallenfells calls it binge training but somehow forgot to mention the purge part. Day one is over and I’m not sure I can take part in day 2. I’m beat up. She also calls it Camp Lynda which makes it sound like we are going to have punch and cookies and maybe play lawn darts. We had no punch and cookies and we didn’t play lawn darts.

I think there were about 22-24 riders that left the parking lot this morning but I only saw around 10-12 at the finish. I’m sure some guys are still on the trail as I write this. A couple casualties sidelined 2 riders right away with what was described to me as a compound fracture of a finger for one and some broken ribs for another.
Let’s just say I was the slow guy and leave it at that. Okay, I won’t leave it at that. I was very humbled today. Everyone put the hurt on me and made me feel like a total beginner. At the half-way point I was so exhausted I couldn’t clip out of my pedals and just fell over. I can’t believe I’ll probably get up tomorrow and do it again. Here are a few pics from today. I stole a few from Adam Lisonbee and a few from Dave Harris but of course I snapped the best ones.
adam1.jpgadam2.jpgadam4.jpgadam7.jpgdsc01842-1.jpgdsc01843-1.jpgdsc01846.jpgdsc01848-1.jpgdsc01849-1.jpgdsc01852-1.jpgdsc01853-1.jpgdsc01854-1.jpgdsc01855-1.jpgdsc01857-1.jpgdsc01858-1.jpgbradk.jpgholley.jpgkeyes.jpgp1120026.jpg

I noticed that a lot of these endurance bikers eat some really weird stuff. I don’t know what they were eating but I do know that I would have to be seriously bonked to consider putting it in my mouth.  Which is to say, I tried some.

56 miles and about 6200 feet of climbing In 6.5 hours total time.

4 Responses to “Binge and Purge”

  1. jamie p January 12, 2008 at 11:31 pm #

    Is that a new sweet looking Walt Works jersey? I thought you were going “dork” this year.

  2. KanyonKris January 13, 2008 at 10:38 am #

    Come on, you gotta do day 2, and 3 and how ever many days there are in (concentration) Camp Lynda! You and Kenny need to get REAL tired so I have a snowball’s chance of staying within sight of the back of the Saturday ride pack. :-) I’m hoping to make it Saturday, but it’s not clear yet.

    BTW, are route maps coming soon? If you have the route GPS tracked or drawn, you could just post a GPX or Google Earth file.

  3. brkeyes7 January 13, 2008 at 11:03 pm #

    jamie p-Dork is for the bike only. I went all geek and got a GPS and even signed up for Training Peaks. Pretty Geeky.

    KK-I promise that tomorrow I’ll have a map up for you and a re-cap of day 2 of Camp Lynda.

  4. SlowerThenSnot January 15, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    Was way cool to ride with yah a bit…

    Gotta do it again very soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

