Leadville Debt Ratio Too High

4 Jan

I’m at the 2008 Leadville Trail 100 racers meeting / pep-rally and Ken has just finished his little cheer. The pumped up crowd is filing out of the gymnasium headed for bed or to drink some beer and take their Ambien and then go to bed. I hear my name over the PA system. “Brad Keyes and Steve Fisher please come see Ken immediately.” What? Who is Steve Fisher? Why me? What did I do? WTF?

leadvillemeeting.jpg

I make my way through the crowd to the front and spot Mr. short shorts himself. I say, “Ken, I’m Brad what’s up?” “Son, I’m really sorry but we can’t let you start the race tomorrow.” I just look at him like he’s an idiot and ask, “why?” “We got your debt ratio report back and I’m so sorry but it’s just way too high and we just can’t have that kind of thing at Leadville.”

I continue looking at him like he’s an idiot and I’m silent as my mind races to figure out which debt ratio is too high and why it even matters. It must be my oxygen debt ratio, that’s got to be it I thought. “Ken, I’ve done this race before, I’ll be OK. Really.” “Son, It’s your debt to income ratio. I’m sorry, but we can’t let you race. If we let you race we’ll have to let everyone with high DTI’s race. We have to draw the line somewhere.”

And so it was, I missed out on the 2008 Leadvile Trail 100. It was just a dream I had last night but man, it was the most realistic, memorable dream I think I’ve ever had. I’m not sure what if anything it means for me this year but it’s got me worried. Tasha says not to worry too much about the race, the dream just means that I’m gay.

9 Responses to “Leadville Debt Ratio Too High”

  1. evilreview January 4, 2008 at 2:22 pm #

    I once had the dream that due to inclement weather, the Leadville 100 would be held inside the gym. It, too, was a realistic dream. Freaky.

  2. dug January 4, 2008 at 5:05 pm #

    i also dreamt that ken wouldn’t let me race in 2008.

  3. Rick S. January 5, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    You are missing the obvious here….When Ken calls you up to the front of the room, it’s to hand you your first place prize for the single speed division.

  4. brkeyes7 January 5, 2008 at 10:53 pm #

    evil-I’d like to try it in the gym. That would be epic.

    dug-The line between dreams and reality is very thin.

    Rick S.-Why not? It was a dream afterall.

  5. UltraRob January 9, 2008 at 12:52 pm #

    I like your calling Ken Mr. short shorts. A lot of the time it’s too cold for shorts and he still wears those short shorts.

  6. bob January 10, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    I hate to go all Sigmund Freud on you, but your fear-fulfillment dream signifies that you should liquidize your assets.

  7. Joe R. January 10, 2008 at 9:17 am #

    Tahsa may have a point…

  8. laura griffin July 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    I am searching for blogs and rss feeds about Leadville and found this. I wonder if Ken has read your blog about your dream?

    good luck and oh please sign up with LeadvilleLifestyle.com it will launch August 1, 2008. You can share videos, images, and do a write up about your Leadville 100 experience.

    Good Luck! You might see me at the race taking pictures.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fat Cyclist » Blog Archive » Strange Dreams - January 9, 2008

    [...] excellent story and I don’t want to spoil it by summarizing, so I’ll instead just say: click here to read it. It’s wonderfully [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

