There Was No Blood

1 Jan

Lots of endo’s and I’m pretty sure everyone fell at least twice. I wiped out a dozen or more times. It was extremely cold, someone said 10 degrees at the start. The downhill was a total riot. I pitched headfirst 3 different times into snowbanks. No blood, dislocated fingers or shoulders. See if you can find the half-naked lunatic mountain man aka Bill Friedman in the pics below.
dsc01806-1.jpgdsc01808-1.jpgdsc01809-1.jpgdsc01810-1.jpgdsc01811-1.jpgdsc01812-1.jpgdsc01813-1.jpgdsc01814-1.jpgdsc01815-1.jpgdsc01816.jpgdsc01819-1.jpgdsc01820-1.jpgdsc01821-1.jpgdsc01823-1.jpgdsc01824-1.jpgdsc01825-1.jpgdsc01826-1.jpg

If you weren’t there you definitely missed out. You only have to wait 12 more months to give it a go.

9 Responses to “There Was No Blood”

  1. Rio's Rider January 1, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    Yea, I missed out. I slept in. Plus, I don’t have a mountain bike. Maybe next year.
    But, I did get out the ol’ binocs and could see the action from my front window. Saw some tiny figures going up at around 10:30. A convening at the top around 11:15-11:30, and the descent at around noon.
    It was a nice day, but COLD! I don’t know how (or why) Bill could have taken off his clothes!?!?

  2. Rick S. January 1, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    I think we all spend some time face down in the snow. For a minute, I thought you were making a snow angel but realized you were just trying to get out of the hole after going down.

  3. ricky January 1, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    sorry i missed the ride this year. i spent the passing of the new year in the AF emergency ward with mike young trying to make the pain of a 9mm kidney stone stop. i ended up staying the night and the next night [tonight]. the doctors will blast the stone at 3:00pm tomorrow then i’ll be free for another year or two. i’ll send pictures of the little demon.

    btw, where did billy get that skin suit? is that thing thermal? that thing is rad!

  4. je January 2, 2008 at 9:40 am #

    I did my 20 miles solo. Not a very social animal, I guess. Just a cold one.

    Now that I got me New Year’s Day ride out of the way, I’ll stay inside unless the temp says 32.

  5. Andy Hoffmann January 2, 2008 at 8:52 pm #

    Hey Brad, checked out the yurt website–very cool. And your blog is spif, also. Look forward to seeing pics of yurts under construction, exciting, exciting. Put me on yr list and keep me up on Gooseberry. I’ll definitely pass the word on.
    Peace,

    andy

  6. brkeyes7 January 2, 2008 at 10:46 pm #

    Rio’s Rider-What? No mountain bike? Time to get on the stick.

    Rick S.-I WAS doing a snow angel, you think I crashed and fell over?

    Ricky-It wasn’t the same without you and Bry. Hope you kept the stone.

    je-The cold ain’t so cold if you’re not alone. Chance to redeem yourself on the 19th at the Gooseberry 100k.

    Andy-Thanks for stopping by. You should see lots of stuff here on Gooseberry over the next couple months.

  7. bob January 3, 2008 at 8:45 am #

    I’m kind of sorry I missed it.

  8. innovatel January 3, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    WOOOOW! I think it’s fantastic! I love go out in mountain bike and with the snow it’s very magic to do :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fat Cyclist » Blog Archive » Squaw Peak for the New Year - January 2, 2008

    [...] the final stretch (this picture and all others in today’s post courtesy of Brad Keyes; click here to see more pictures he took during the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

