Get Your Dork On!

10 Dec

Rick S. got me thinking about next year. My plan for next year as far as my bike goes is to get my dork on.

Getting your dork on should not be confused with getting your geek on.

If you are easily hypnotized by shiny pieces of carbon fiber or titanium bike gizmos and consider yourself an early adopter of bike technology, chances are you don’t need any help getting your geek on. If you’re still unsure of what I’m talking about I suggest you pay a visit to Jamie Pogue’s garage. No one gets their geek on like Jamie. I mean that as a compliment. I must pause here to thank Jamie for all the wonderful hand-me-downs from his garage that have allowed me to get my geek on in my own little way.

Getting your dork on is the opposite of Jamie’s garage. It’s your D. I. to your Nordy’s. It’s your Huckabee to your Romney, your Accordion Hero to your Guitar Hero.

Last season, geek on:

geekon4.jpg

Next season, dork on:

dorkon1.jpg

To the untrained eye the above bikes may look similar but they couldn’t be more different. I’ve loved the custom, made just for me, frame from Walt Works. As a matter of fact I’ve owned a couple Walt Works and they rock.

Next season though, I’m going with a 5 year old totally stock 2nd owner Kona Unit. It even has a big dent in the downtube. You may not notice all the geekiness on the Walt Works but its there, from the carbon fiber hydraulic brake levers to the carbon cranks and titanium seat post. Zero carbon on the Kona in the second picture, no titanium either. I’ll be using rim brakes in lieu of hydros and my brake levers don’t match.

I cant’ wait. Join me in getting your dork on.

6 Responses to “Get Your Dork On!”

  1. dug December 11, 2007 at 9:01 am #

    um. i’m not so big on getting my dork on my own damn self, but, well, can i have your walt works?

  2. brkeyes7 December 11, 2007 at 9:37 am #

    dug, my walt works are your walt works. but only if you’ll let me take a hacksaw to your karate monkey and put some s&s couplers on.

  3. Rick S. December 11, 2007 at 9:29 pm #

    Can we expect to see you riding in Teva’s next year too? It’s going to suck being dropped by you when you are in full “Dork On” mode and the rest of us are in “Geek on” mode.

  4. Bob December 11, 2007 at 9:54 pm #

    I expect to see you with gears and suspension in 2009

  5. Phill December 17, 2007 at 1:19 am #

    Brad.

    I’m very jealous of the lovely playground in which you and the core team get to play. Over here in England we have much more mud which is fun in itself, but oh to be warm when riding my bike. Anyway with regarding to “Dorking” out. What are the rules. I currently have a specialized stumpy full suspension which is great but I’ve fancied going back to my roots (or dorking as you so well put it). I don’t have a dork rig so will need to purchase from ebay. Give me a few hints i.e. must be older than 5 years (or 10 years???),

    Ps. I’d like to be the first to reserve a place on the inaugral ride from your Yurt’s, please tell me where I can send my cheque to reserve a place… (I’m serious)

  6. brkeyes7 December 17, 2007 at 9:47 am #

    Phill-First rule of dorking your bike is to NOT buy anything. Beg, borrow or steal what you need. I got the Kona Unit 2nd hand from someone that thought it was useless with the big dent in the down tube. I then scavenged parts from friends garages. I do think I paid $50 for the frame though.

    After numerous e-mails, texts, calls and now your comment I think a post regarding rules to dork by is warranted. Check back.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

